Jack Sodeman Jr. Takes Lernerville Victory

lernerville speedway
lernerville speedway

Danny Holtgraver entered the Ti22 Performance DIRTcar Sprint Feature trailing Ed Lynch Jr. by just three points after winning his National Guard Heat Race, while Lynch is out at the Knoxville Nationals. And after starting on the pole, Holtgraver was running away with the Ti22 Sprint Feature on the way to what appeared to be his first career Lernerville Feature win, when the curse of Friday the 13th struck on lap 10. As Holtgraver entered turn three, he checked up to miss the lapped car of Dan Kuriger. The D4 looped around in turn three then tipped over to bring out a red flag.

The cliché goes, “Sometimes it’s better to be lucky than good!” But for Jack Sodeman Jr., it’s even better to be lucky AND good! And Jack has been as good as any sprint car driver in Western PA/Eastern OH during the 2010 season. After inheriting the lead, Sodeman powered the Rudzik #94, (sporting a taped over #23Jr to maintain Budweiser Points), to Sheetz Victory Lane for his second win this season. His second Lernerville Feature win is his eighth overall of the season! After blowing a motor last week, Sodeman stated, “I can’t say enough about Jeff & Bonnie (Rudzik) and Gary Edwards,” for supplying a car and motor.

Cole Duncan tested Sodeman in the closing laps but had to settle for second. Kevin Schaeffer tied his best finish of the season in third, followed by Carl Bowser and Scott Priester. Sodeman and Holtgraver checkered their respective National Guard Heat Races.

In addition to Lynch being in Knoxville, and Holtgraver flipping, Defending Track Champion Rod George broke in the heat race then did not start the feature, and Bob Felmlee jumped the cushion in turns three & four while battling for fifth on lap 11. Holtgraver takes over the Budweiser Points lead by seven points over Lynch, but that will be little solace for missing out on that first feature win! The rest Ti22 Top Five in Budweiser Points (Lynch 426, Felmlee 414, George 412 and Sodeman 402) are all within one night of points from Holtgraver with just two nights of Fab Four Racing left on the 2010 schedule!

Next Friday, August 20 is the next to last Fab Four Racing program of the 2010 season, with Championship Night to follow on Friday, August 27.


Ti22 Performance DIRTcar Sprint Feature (25 Laps)

1. (23JR) Jack Sodeman Jr., N. Jackson OH.
2. (22C) Cole Duncan, Grove City
3. (9) Kevin Schaeffer, Kittanning
4. (10) Carl Bowser, Sarver
5. (11) Scott Priester, Rimersburg
6. (33) Brett Matus, Wampum
7. (45) Todd Bauer, Clarion
8. (6F) Bob Felmlee, Seneca
9. (08) Dan Kuriger, New Brighton
10. (23) Jimmy Light, Erie
11. (13) Brandon Matus, Wampum
12. (4K) Bill Kiley, Cabot
13. (7X) Herman Bertolini, Creighton
14. (24S) Brian Steinman, Lucinda
15. (70X) Mike Bertolini, Creighton
16. (D4) Danny Holtgraver, Pittsburgh
17. (O) Andy McKisson, Strattanville

DNS: (4) Rod George, Kittanning

DNS: (3) Pete Miller III, Port Vue

National Guard Heat Race Winners: Jack Sodeman Jr., Danny Holtgraver