Fremont Speedway to wrap up 59th season with awards banquet Nov. 20


From Brian Liskai

FREMONT, Ohio – Fremont Speedway will wrap up its 59th season with the traditional awards banquet on Saturday, Nov. 20, at Ole Zim’s Wagonshed, St. Rt. 590, located between U.S. 20 and U.S. 6, west of Fremont.

The top 10 in points in the Fort Ball Pizza Palace 410 Sprints; Fremont Federal Credit Union 305 Sprints and Fremont Fence Dirt Trucks will share in the point fund money. All drivers have to be present at the banquet to receive their awards.

Tickets for the banquet are $25 each which includes the delicious family-style dinner of chicken, ham, roast beef, mashed potatoes and more. Tickets are available by calling Rich Farmer, Fremont Speedway Promoter, at 419-307-4241. Tickets will also be available at the Racers Swap Meet at the Sandusky County Fairgrounds on Saturday, Oct. 23.

The top 10 in points for the 410 sprints were: 1. Craig Mintz; 2. Byron Reed; 3. Bryan Sebetto; 4. Mark Keegan; 5. Kevin Lee; 6. Todd Heller. 7. Phil Gressman; 8. Lee Jacobs; 9. Mike Linder. 10. Shawn Valenti. The rookie of the year is Shawn Valenti.

The top 10 in points for the 305 sprints were. 1. Stuart Brubaker; 2. John Ivy; 3. Paul Weaver; 4. Bobby Clark; 5. Jimmy Colvin; 6. Zack Kramer; 7. Steve Rando; 8. Bill Kraylek; 9. Dustin Stroup. 10. Josh Muntz. The rookie of the year is Jason Keckler.

The top 10 in points for the dirt trucks were: 1. Steve Sabo; 2. Dan Hennig; 3. Steve Endicott; 4. Cory Ward; 5. Bob Dible; 6. Kent Brewer; 7. Jimmy McGrath Jr.; 8. Brad Mitten; 9. Jeff Wank; 10. Loren Schwochow. The rookie of the year is Jeff Wank.