Lasoski Scores NCRA Opener

National Championship Racing Association

From David Smith, Jr.

Park City, KS — Danny Lasoski of Dover, Missouri made his first race with the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car division a profitable one as he took the lead with ten laps to go then cruised to victory in the series season opener at 81 Speedway Saturday night.

A capacity crowd saw Lincoln, Nebraska’s Jack Dover and Tulsa, Oklahoma’s Sean McClelland start on the front row for the twenty-five lap feature event but the night for both drivers would end quickly as the two made contact down the front stretch. McClelland’s night would end with massive front end damage while Dover would restart at the tail of the field and eventually come home with a seventh place finish.

The attempted restart wasn’t much better as Jason Martin went for a spin on the front stretch.

Third time was a charm and on the complete restart, Luke Cranston and Scott Lehman moved up to the front row with Cranston quickly jumping out into an early lead.

Cranston, aboard the #20 Cranston Racing LLC/S&S Trailer Sales sponsored, Myers powered Maxim chassis, quickly opened up a five car length lead over the rest of the field. Lasoski would take over the runner up position on lap two and looked to be pacing himself and his tires as day long fierce winds dried out the three-eighths mile oval.

Sixth starting Ty Williams of Liberal, Kansas worked his way up to the third position by lap five and would put pressure on Lasoski for the runner up position but couldn’t make a move stick.

The first in a line of cautions would wave on lap eight for Billy Alley’s spin in turn two as well as defending series champion Jeremy Campbell’s stalled #E85 Ethanol sprinter in turn three.

Once racing resumed Cranston remained out front and maintained up to an eight car length lead over Lasoski, who continued to fend off repeated challenges of Williams.

With ten laps to go the former World of Outlaw sprint car regular decided it was time to go as he made a quick move around Cranston entering turns one and two and pulled down the back stretch to take the lead.

From there the only thing keeping Lasoski from victory lane was several caution flags but in the end it was Lasoski taking his first career NCRA 360 sprint car feature victory by ten car lengths over Cranston. Jon Freeman had a solid run and came home to a third place finish while ninth starting C.J. Johnson worked his way up to finish fourth. Williams would fade the final three laps to round out the top five.

The six heat races for the 49 car field were won by Lehman, Dover, McClelland, Lasoski, Campbell and Freeman while Martin and Danny Wood snared the two, twelve lap “B” features.

The next event for the NCRA of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car division will take place on Saturday night, May 7th, at Dodge City Raceway Park in Dodge City, Kansas for their first and only 2011 appearance.

Officials with the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products would like to thank the following partners and contingency sponsors of the sprint car division for the 2011 race season:

Series Partners: Park City, Kansas, Smiley’s Racing Products, Hoosier Racing Tires and Sunoco Race Fuels

Contingency Sponsors: The Brake Man, Saldana Racing Products

NCRA Sprint Car Division


49 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Scott Lehman 2) CJ Johnson 3) Mike Peters 4) Brian Herbert 5) Whit Gastineau 6) Garry Lee Maier 7) Koby Barksdale 8) Taylor Velasquez 9) Rick Wright Jr,

2nd Heat: 1) Jack Dover 2) Jason Martin 3) Ryan Roberts 4) Jason Schroeder 5) Mark Pace 6) Ryan Kitchen 7) Haley Arnold 8) Jeff Stasa

3rd Heat: 1) Shawn McClelland 2) Luke Cranston 3) Jay Russell 4) Patrick Stasa 5) Jason Danley 6) Preston Peebles 7) Forrest Sutherland 8) Justin Schwien

4th Heat: 1) Danny Lasoski 2) Danny Wood 3) Joe Wood Jr. 4) Brian Brown 5) John Cornell 6) J.D. Johnson 7) Trevor Grossenbacher 8) Bryan Gossel

5th Heat: 1) Jeremy Campbell 2) Ty Williams 3) Miranda Arnold 4) Josh Stephans 5) Kyle Bellm 6) Barry Gifford 7) Cody Forshee 8) Justyn Cox

6th Heat: 1) Jon Freeman 2) Steven Richardson 3) Aaron Berryhill 4) A.J. Selenke 5) Kris Miller 6) Robert Sellers 7) Billy Alley 8) Jerry Graves Jr.

1st B Feature: 1) Jason Martin 2) Joe Wood Jr. 3) Mark Pace 4) Brian Herbert 5) Billy Alley 6) Jay Russell 7) Barry Gifford 8) Taylor Velasquez 9) Trevor Grossenbacher 10) Ty Williams 11) Ryan Kitchen 12) A.J. Selenke 13) Josh Stephans 14) Whit Gastineau 15) Kyle Bellm 16) Justin Schwien 17) Justyn Cox 18) Rick Wright Jr.

2nd B Feature: 1) Danny Wood 2) Mike Peters 3) Cody Forshee 4) Garry Lee Maier 5) Patrick Stasa 6) Kris Miller 7) J.D. Johnson 8) Koby Barksdale 9) Brian Brown 10) John Cornell 11) Jason Schroeder 12) Bryan Gossel 13) Forrest Sutherland 14) Jeff Stasa 15) Jerry Graves Jr. 16) Jason Danley 17) Preston Peebles 18) Shawn McClelland 19) Robert Sellers

A Feature: 1) Danny Lasoski 2) Luke Cranston 3) Jon Freeman 4) CJ Johnson 5) Ty Williams 6) Patrick Stasa 7) Jack Dover 8) Mike Peters 9) Garry Lee Maier 10) Brian Brown 11) Danny Wood 12) Joe Wood Jr. 13) Jason Martin 14) Ryan Roberts 15) Steven Richardson 16) Jeremy Campbell 17) Billy Alley 18) Scott Lehman 19) Miranda Arnold 20) Brian Herbert 21) Mark Pace 22) Sean McClelland

Lap Leaders: Cranston 1-15; Lasoski 16-25

Photo Gallery