ASCS Sooner Region at Lawton this Saturday!

American Sprint Car Series

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (May 31, 2011) – After a wild weekend in western Kansas, action continues for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region with a return to the semi-banked, ¼-mile Lawton Speedway red clay oval in Lawton, OK, this Saturday night.

Leading the way into the fifth consecutive scheduled weekend of rugged ASCS Sooner Region competition is Glenpool, Oklahoma’s Matt Covington, who holds a 19-point advantage in the pursuit of his first ASCS championship.

The 21-year-old picked off his first career ASCS Sooner triumph in the most recent event at Lawton Speedway on May 14.

But, after carrying 40-point advantage into this past weekend’s double at Jetmore, KS, Covington’s advantage has dwindled to just 13 points over 2009 Sooner champion Joe Wood, Jr., of Oklahoma City, with Guthrie’s Michelle Decker just another two points back in third.

Oklahoma City’s Andy Shouse is just 47 points off the lead pace in fourth, with Norman’s Koby Barksdale rounding out the current top five. The rest of the current top ten in Sooner points includes Danny Wood, Lee Little, Cameron Hagin, Zach Chappell and Tony Bruce, Jr.

There have been eight different winners in the last nine Sooner events at Lawton Speedway over the past three years, with only Robert Sellers repeating. Sellers took the lead away from Covington in the late going last month only to have Covington bounce right back to snare the win.

Saturday’s action at Lawton Speedway fires off at 8:00 p.m.

Lawton Speedway is located in Lawton, OK, off I-44 Exit 36, then 2.5 miles west on Lee Boulevard, then 1.4 miles south on Sheridan Road. For more information, contact the track at 580-355-6417.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region is slated for 14 nights of racing action at seven different tracks throughout Oklahoma and neighboring areas of Kansas, Texas and Missouri in 2011.

Past American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Feature Winners at Lawton Speedway:
5/14/11 – Matt Covington
10/2/10 – Andy Shouse
7/10/10 – Sean McClelland (vs. Lone Star Region)
6/5/10 – Robert Sellers
8/22/09 – Jason Johnson
7/18/09 – Brady Bacon
8/16/08 – Robert Sellers
6/14/08 – Joe Wood, Jr.
4/12/08 – Gary Taylor
9/8/07 – Kevin Ramey
8/19/06 – Kevin Ramey
4/22/06 – Sean McClelland
9/17/05 – Kevin Ramey
7/2/05 – Sean McClelland
4/30/05 – Sean McClelland
9/11/04 – Danny Wood
7/3/04 – Danny Wood
5/1/04 – Travis Rilat
9/20/03 – Kevin Ramey
7/5/03 – Nick Smith
5/3/03 – Kevin Ramey
9/14/02 – Danny Jennings
8/3/02 – Zach Chappell
7/6/02 – Foster Landon
8/18/01 – Danny Jennings
8/4/01 – Danny Jennings
7/7/01 – Robert Sellers
6/2/01 – Travis Scott

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at