Crawley rockets to USCS Firecracker win at Clarksville


By Pete Walton

Clarksville, TN – July 3, 2011 – Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas charged past the front four drivers into the lead on lap two of the 30-lap United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear main event at Clarksville Speedway on Sunday night and then led the race’s final 28 laps to the USCS victory lane for the sixth time this season. It was his second win of the Independence Day holiday weekend in the USCS Firecracker 2011 triple-header. Crawley drove the #88 Ward Racing Lucas Oil sponsored JEI car to victory lane. He was followed to the finish line by 2010 USCS Southern Thunder by presented Goodyear regional series sixteen-year-old Rookie of the Year, Eric Riggins from Charlotte, North Carolina.

Crawley started the Ward Racing #88 from the fifth position in the main event after Engler Machine and Tool First Heat winner Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee drew a six in K&N Filters Pole award drawing. This placed the 2010 USCS Mid South regional series Rookie of the Year, Jerod Roller from Hernando, Mississippi on the K&N Filters Pole Position. Eric Riggins, Jr. started to Roller’s right in the front row. Roller charged into the lead in the first turn and blasted to the front for one circuit before Charley charged low underneath him exiting turn four of lap two and into the lead.

Crawley drove away from the field leaving Roller, Riggins and another young gun, Brian Bell from Cordova, Tennessee battling for the runner-up spot. Roller held onto the position until lap ten when Bell who started sixth in the inversion after scoring the most qualifying points, came racing past on the outside. Bell held on to the second position until lap twenty-four. On lap twenty-four Eric Riggins, Jr. passed him for the position. Riggins held on to the number two spot until the end for his best 2011 finish. Bell raced across the finish line in the K&N Filters Podium (third place) position, followed by Jerod Roller in fourth place. Nine-time and defending series Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee rounded out the top five drivers.

Jerrod Hull from Sikeston, Missouri, who was the previous night’s USCS feature winner at Thunderhill Raceway, led the next group in sixth place. The 2009 USCS National Rookie of the Year Justin Carver from Drummonds, Tennessee finished in seventh place. The current USCS Rookie of the Year point’s leader, Jordan Mallett from Greenbriar, Arkansas followed in eighth place. 2010 USCS National Rookie of the Year and the only female driver in the field, eighteen year-old Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee finished ninth and 2008 USCS Rookie of the Year, Anthony Nicholson from Bartlett, Tennessee rounded out the top ten finishers.

Anthony Nicholson won the 6-cars, 6-lap Goodyear Speed Dash. Terry Gray won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat and Tim Crawley won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat Race. Crawley was also the Wilwood Engineering Hard Charger in the main event. Jordan Mallett from Greenbriar, Arkansas was the Rookie of the Race.

The next United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear Outlaw Thunder Tour event is at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock; Georgia on Saturday, July 16th. The USCS 600 Sprint Car Series winged mini sprints and the Georgia Micro Sprints join the winged warriors at the historic Metro Atlanta 3/8 mile red clay oval on the action-packed racing card. For more info and directions please visit or call 770-926-5315. For rules and info on the USCS presented by Goodyear please visit or call 770-865-6097.

USCS presented by Goodyear results from Clarksville Speedway on Sunday, July 3, 2011:

Goodyear Power Dash (6-laps): Anthony Nicholson, Tim Crawley, Terry Gray, Jerod Roller, Jerrod Hull.
and Eric Riggins, Jr.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Terry Gray, Eric Riggins, Jr., Jerrod Hull, Clint Weiss, Justin Carver, Jimmy Davies, Jeff Willingham Ray Bugg and Darren Clark.

Butlerbuilt Second Heat winner: Tim Crawley, Brian Bell, Jerod Roller, Anthony Nicholson, Morgan Turpen, Jordan Mallett, Alex Pettas, Mike Hampton, Tony Wilson and David Clark.

United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear feature race at Clarksville Speedway 7/3/11 (30-laps):

Finish Start Car Driver/Hometown
1 5 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR
2 2 47 Eric Riggins, Jr., Charlotte, NC
3 6 23 Brian Bell, Cordova, TN
4 1 5 Jerod Roller, Olive Branch, MS
5 3 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
6 4 12 Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO
7 11 87 Justin Carver, Drummonds, TN
8 10 14 Jordan Mallett, Greenbrier, AR – Rookie
9 7 80 Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
10 9 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN
11 10 99 Jimmy Davies, Oqwuaka, IL 10
12 14 20h Mike Hampton, McKenzie, TN
13 13 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
14 15 2 Alex Pettas, Phoenix, AZ
15 8 Ox Clint Weiss, Raneyville, KY
16 17 15 Tony Wilson, Paris, TN
17 18 20c Darren Clark, Huntersville, NC
18 16 25 Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS
19 DNS 21c David Clark, Huntersville, NC

USCS presented by Goodyear Sprint Car Race Awards:
Goodyear Speed Dash winner award: #16 Anthony Nicholson
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat winner award: #10 Terry Gray
Butlerbuilt Second Heat winner award: #Tim Crawley
K&N Filters Pole Award: #5 Jerod Roller
Wilwood Eng. Hard Charger Award: #88 Tim Crawley (started 5th finished 1st )
JE Pistons Top Guns Award: #Brian Bell (3rd place)
K&N Filters Podium Award: # 23 Brian Bell (3rd place)
Keizer Wheels Top Five Award: #10 Terry Gray
Diversified Machine Inc/DMI Top 10 Award: #16 Anthony Nicholson