urc United Racing Company Logo

From Bob Miller

Quebec driver Steve Poirier won a thriller Saturday night at the Rolling Wheels Raceway to pocket the $2,000 first place prize in the opening night of the two day sprint car shoot out at the Rolling Wheels Raceway in Elbridge, NJ The event was sanctioned by URC and offered points for the season long Rislone Sprint Series as well as the Fred’s Trailer Parts Series. Poirier took the lead on lap twenty from early race leader Jessica Zemken when she got caught up in lapped traffic. Zemken fought back to regain the top spot by Poirier was not to be denied this impressive win.

Heat race event winners were Tim Kelly, Jason Barney, Bryan Howland and Curt Michael as Jeff Cook won the 12 lap “B” main event.

Rory Janney and Jessica Zemken made-up the front row and at the drop of the green flag, Zemken powered into the lead position with Poirier racing in third. JJ Grasso brought the fans to their feet lap after lap running high and wide on the top edge of the track. Grasso moved into third on lap five and set his sights on Poirier.

The one and only caution in the twenty-five lap feature was displayed on lap twelve when Cory Sparks spun in turn two. On the restart, Zemken remained in control of the lead spot. One lap later, as the field crossed for the halfway sign it was Zemken, Poirier, Justin Barger, JJ Grasso and Chuck Hebing.

Poirier inched closer to Zemken with each lap as Barger and Grasso battled for third. As the leaders began closing in on the slower traffic, a four car battle for the lead was in the making. On lap twenty, Poirier took the lead when Zemken drifted high. Zemken fought back but Poirier had a solid hold on the lead. Barger and Grasso were still in a battle for third with Barger holding the advantage.

As the field charged out of turn four with the checker flag waiving, a lapped car spun on the homestfetch just past the start/finish line. The leaders scrambled with Poirier taking the checker flag then dodging the spinning sprinter. Zemken finished second with Grasso passing Barger for third. Grasso also drove through the first turn infield to avoid the spinning sprint car. Chuck Hebing rallied home in third.

FEATURE FINISH: Steve Poirier, Jessica Zemken, JJ Grasso, Justin Barger, Chuck Hebing, Shawn Donath, Michael Parent, Alain Bergeron, Lance Yonge, Rory Janney, Randy West, Don Adamczyk, Jared Zimbardi, Josh Weller, Tim Kelly, Kramer Williamson, Curt Michael, Tommy Wickham, Jason Barney, Jeff Cook, Cory Sparks, Scott Kreutter, Paul Habeck, Andy Best, Robbie Stillwaggon, Dylan Swienik, DNQ – -Shayne Ely, Brad Knab, Tim Hogue, Scott Kreutter, Bob Reis, Kyle Dutcher, Jeff Fraiser, Steve Collins, Bryan Howland.

The LikeWise Fast time of the night went to Justin Barger. The Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger Award went to Randy West after advancing 12 spots in the feature.

Engler Tool & Machine 1st Heat- – – Tim Kelly Brad Penn Oil 2nd Heat- – – Jason Barney Pioneer Pole Building 3rd Heat- – Bryan Howland Bar’s Leaks 4th Heat- – -Curt Michael

For all your overnight lodging plans, use. . . . .CHOICE HOTELS- -Clarion, Comfort, Quality, Sleep Inn & Main Stay Hotels ..Official hotels of URC

Next Event: Saturday night, Rolling Wheels Raceway $3,000 To Win 25 laps


Valley Forge INC presents:

Curt Michael of Ocean View, DE scored his first Rislone URC Sprint Series feature win Saturday night at the Lincoln Speedway on Valley Forge INC Night. Michael, the seven time URC champion started outside the front row and led the entire twenty-five lap feature event. For Michael, this victory marked his forty-fifth career win under the URC banner.

Ed Aikin of Lincoln University, PA set fast time in time trials earning the LikeWise Fast Time bonus. URC heat race events were won by JJ Grasso, Curt Michael and Josh Weller.

Rory Janney and Curt Michael made up the front row to start the feature with Curt Michael taking the lead at the immediate drop of the green flag. Michael established a solid lead as Jenny was left to battle with Dave Ely. On lap three, Ely moved into second and took his shot at chasing down the leader. Jenny continued to fight back and on lap seven, he regained the second spot dropping Ely to third.

The race ran caution free at the halfway point it was still Curt Michael, Rory Janney, Dave Ely, Kevin Nagy and Ed Aikin making up the top five. By lap eighteen, Michael was coming up on slower traffic and Jenny started to reel in the leader. Third place runner Dave Ely was also catching the leaders. With just five laps remaining, Curt Michael clearly had his hands full with lapped traffic and the top three were now nose to tail.

Second place runner Rory Janney stayed right on the rear bumper of Michael, waiting for the leader to bobble, but it never happened. Curt Michael took the win just two car lengths ahead of runner-up Rory Janney who scored his best URC career feature finish with a second. Dave Ely finished third followed by Kevin Nagy and Ed Aikin.

FEATURE FINISH: Curt Michael, Rory Janney, Dave Ely,, Kevin Nagy, Ed Aikin, Glenn don Forsythe, Kramer Williamson, Robbie Stillwaggon, JJ Grasso, Josh Weller, Jonathan Swanson, Bryn Gohn, Art Liedl, Mark Bitner, Jeff Fifthian, Tim Higgins, Randy West, Steve Whary, Andy Best, Dave Martin, Tim Hogue, Jimmy Stitzel, Jason Clauss, Troy Betts, Aaron Ott.

Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger – – Jeff Fifthian advanced 8 spots
LikeWise Fast Time of the Night- – – Ed Aikin
Angler Tool & Machine 1st Heat- – – JJ Grasso
Brad Penn Oil 2nd Heat- – – Curt Michael
Pioneer Pole Building 3rd Heat- – Josh Weller