Jerrod Hull charges to USCS “Night of Thunder” win at North Alabama

From Pete Walton

Tuscumbia, AL – August 12, 2011 – Jerrod Hull from Sikeston, Missouri charged to his second United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear win of the 2011 season at North Alabama Speedway on Friday night during the winged sprint car portion of the 5th annual Night of Thunder racing card. 2008 USCS Mid South Thunder Tour presented by Goodyear Champion, Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas, chased Hull the final 18 laps around the high-banked 3/8 red clay oval. Crawley who was looking for his eighth USCS win of the season couldn’t quite make it happen.

Crawley won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat Race and accumulated the most passing/qualifying points in the process. He then started the Ward Racing #88 in sixth position after drawing a six in the K&N Filters Pole Award drawing. Jerrod Hull started the right of K&N Filters Pole position starter, young gun Brian Bell from Cordova, Tennessee in the front row.

After the initial start was called back, Brian Bell charged into the lead in the first turn on the re-start and blasted to the front and with a comfortable lead while enduring several re-starts after early race caution periods on laps two, three and six. On lap eleven while comfortably leading over Hull and Crawley, Bell slipped off the top of the track in turn three after making contact with a lapped car. After surveying the damage to his #23 FSR Racing Products car he was done for the evening

Hull inherited the point at this time with eighteen laps to go with Crawley, defending series champion Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee, 2008 Rookie of the Year Anthony Nicholson also from Bartlett and past USCS National champion Eddie Gallagher from Piperton, Tennessee on his rear bumper for the re-start. Hull held on through another caution on lap-twenty for the win in the thirty-lap contest. Crawley chased him to the finish line in the runner-up spot. Gallagher advanced to the K&N Filters third position at the finish. Nine-time USCS Champion Terry Gray followed in the fourth position and Anthony Nicholson rounded out the top five.

The 2010 USCS Mid South regional series Rookie of the Year, Jerod Roller from Hernando, Mississippi led the next group of finishers in sixth place. The 2006 USCS Rookie of the Year, Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas finished seventh. The only female sprint car racer in the field, 2010 USCS presented by Goodyear National Rookie of the Year Morgan Turpen finished in eighth position. The current 2011 Rookie of the Year point’s leader, Jordon Mallett from Greenbrier, Arkansas finished ninth and another rookie contender, Justin Webb from Drummonds, Tennessee rounded out the top ten finishers.

Tim Crawley kicked off the evening’s sprint car racing program by winning the 6-cars, 6-lap Goodyear USCS Speed Dash. Crawley also won the Engler Machine and Tool first Heat. Jerrod Hull won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat Race. Jerod Roller collected the win in the Third Heat. The 2007 USCS Southern Thunder Tour regional series Rookie of the Year, Lee Moore from Tuscaloosa, Alabama., was the Wilwood Engineering Hard Charger in the main event. Jordan Mallett from Greenbrier, Arkansas was the Rookie of the Race.

Results for USCS presented by Goodyear at North Alabama Speedway – August 12, 2011:

USCS Goodyear Power Dash (6-laps): Tim Crawley, Brian Bell, Eric Riggins, Jr., Terry Gray, Jerod Roller, and Jerrod Hull.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Winner =- Tim Crawley, Terry Gray, Jordon Mallett, Justin Webb, Clint Weiss, Tony Wilson and Ronny Howard.

Butlerbuilt Second Heat: Winner = Jerrod Hull, Brian Bell, Eddie Gallagher, Morgan Turpen, Ray Bugg, Mike Hampton and Jeff Willingham. Third Heat: Winner = Jerod Roller, Anthony Nicholson, Derek Hagar, Jim Perricone, Eric Riggins, Jr., Lee Moore and Marion Jacobs.

United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear feature race:

North Alabama Speedway 8/12/11 (30-laps):

Finish Start Car Driver/Hometown

1 2 12 Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO

2 6 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR

3 7 1 Eddie Gallagher, Piperton, TN

4 2 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN

5 5 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN

6 3 5 Jerod Roller, Olive Branch, MS 16

7 8 94 Derek Hagar, Marion, AR

8 12 80 Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN

9 10 14 Jordan Mallett, Greenbrier, AR – Rookie

10 9 31 Justin Webb, Drummonds, TN

11 13 Ox Clint Weiss, Elizabethtown, KY

12 19 1A Lee Moore, Tuscumbia, AL

13 11 10p Jim Perricone, San Antonio, TX

14 18 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS

15 1 23 Brian Bell, Cordova, TN

16 16 15 Tony Wilson, Paris, TN

17 20 3d Marion Jacobs, Florence, AL

18 15 25 Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS

19 17 20 Mike Hampton, McKenzie, TN

20 – DNS 47 Eric Riggins, Jr., Charlotte, NC

21 – DNS 44 Ronny howard, Nesbit, MS

USCS presented by Goodyear Sprint Car Race Awards:

Goodyear Speed Dash winner award: #88 Tim Crawley

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat winner award: #88 Tim Crawley

Butlerbuilt Second Heat winner award: #12 Jerrod Hull

K&N Filters Pole Award: #23 Brian Bell

Wilwood Eng. Hard Charger Award: #1A Lee moore (started 19th finished 2th )

JE Pistons Top Guns Award: #10 Terry Gray (4th place)

K&N Filters Podium Award: # 1 Eddie Gallagher (3rd place)

Keizer Wheels Top Five Award: #16 Anthony Nicholson

Diversified Machine Inc/DMI Top 10 Award: #31 Justin Webb