Berryhill Posts $5,000 Hard Charger Chili Bowl Bonus!

2010 Chili Bowl

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (January 4, 2012) – Bob Berryhill has been an influence at the Chili Bowl Nationals since its inception in 1987, with his Original Chili Bowl food company sponsoring the fledgling event in its formative years.

Now, with the 26th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals set to fire off next Tuesday night at the QuikTrip Center’s Tulsa Expo Raceway, Berryhill has stepped up by offering a Hard Charger bonus for the championship Saturday, January 14, portion of the prestigious event.

Berryhill, who will serve as Grand Marshall for this year’s Chili Bowl Nationals, has offered up $5,000 in bonus money for some Hard Chargers on Saturday to be split among three drivers.

The driver that passes the most cars during Saturday’s slate of alphabet feature competition will pocket $2,500, the driver that passes the second most cars will earn a $1,500 bonus and the driver that passes the third most cars will earn an extra $1,000.

With 261 entries from 31 different states as well as Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Finland currently filed for the event, Saturday’s feature action will begin with at least one “K” Main followed up by twin “J” Mains, “I” Mains, etc. leading the way to the 50-lap championship “A” Main event.

Four nights of qualifying action on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday will set Saturday’s feature grids, with the top three finishers from each night locking into Saturday’s “A” Main.

Tuesday’s card will also include the Fourth Annual Vacuworx International Race of Champions (VIROC IV).

A limited number of tickets are available for the Tuesday night, January 10, Warren CAT Chili Bowl Qualifier and Vacuworx International Race of Champions for just $43 apiece. Tickets may be obtained by calling the ticket office at 918-838-3777.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals Quick Facts:

What: 26th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals

Where: Tulsa Expo Raceway – ¼-mile clay oval inside the QuikTrip Center at the Tulsa State Fairgrounds

January 10-14, 2011
Tuesday – Warren CAT Qualifying Night plus Vacuworx Chili Bowl Race of Champions
Wednesday – River Spirit Casino Qualifying Night
Thursday – Suburban Chevrolet Qualifying Night
Friday – Vacuworx International Qualifying Night
Saturday – Lucas Oil Championship Feature Events

The five nights of racing action will be preceded by a practice session on Monday, January 9.

Past Winners: Kevin Swindell (2010 and 2011), Sammy Swindell (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989), Damion Gardner (2008), Tony Stewart (2007 and 2002), Tim McCreadie (2006), Tracy Hines (2005), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Dan Boorse (2003 and 1999), Jay Drake (2001), Billy Boat (1997), Donnie Beechler (1995), Andy Hillenburg (1994), Dave Blaney (1993), Lealand McSpadden (1991), Jon Heydenreich (1990), Scott Hatton (1988), Rich Vogler (1987).

Trade Show: Always a popular attraction at the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is the Trade Show, which is open to the public each day (Tuesday through Saturday) free of charge. All variety of racing products, apparel and more is available with well over 100 different vendors. The Trade Show covers approximately 20,000 square feet.

Tickets: A limited number of reserved seats for Tuesday night’s Warren CAT Qualifying Event and the Fourth Annual Vacuworx International Chili Bowl Race of Champions are available for $43 per person and may be obtained by calling 918-838-3777 or at the gate if still available. Pit passes for all five nights are available at the gate as well.

Chili Bowl on the Net: All official news pertaining to the 26th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals, including official entry lists, race results and recaps, is available first at Also, all five nights of the Chili Bowl Nationals will be broadcast live (audio) on

Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is available at or by calling 918-838-3777.