usac United States Auto Club 2012 logo

From Dick Jordan

The 2011 USAC Western States “Night of Champions” Awards Banquet is scheduled Saturday, February 4, at the Thunder Valley Casino and Resort in Lincoln, Calif., honoring champions of USAC’s 2012 Western racing series.

Top driver honorees include Tony Hunt (AMSOIL Western Sprints), Geoff Ensign (AMSOIL Western Classic Sprints), Cory Kruseman (Mopar Western Midgets) and Brodie Kostecki (Western Focus Midgets), while numerous others will be saluted for outstanding achievement, including sub-series championships. Primary Car Owner Championships in 2011 included Mike Phulps (AMSOIL Western Sprint), Ted Finkenbinder (AMSOIL Western Classic Sprint) and Kruseman Enterprises (Mopar Western Midgets).

The “top-10 drivers and car entrants in each series are slated for recognition, while champions in Northern California, Southern California, Pavement and Dirt classifications will also be toasted.

Tickets for the function at $55 per person are available and must be purchased in advance by contacting Jeanie Hunt at (916) 863-7223. Special room rates at two sites are also available. Please mention USAC when reserving rooms at the Staybridge Suites in Rocklin, Calif. ($99) or Thunder Valley Casino and Resort ($169-code # 120121-USAC). The Staybridge can be reached at (916) 781-7500, while the numbers at Thunder Valley are (916) 408-7777 or (877) 468-1777. The casino will provide shuttle service from the Staybridge to the Casino.

Bobby Gerould will serve as the emcee for the banquet, which begins with cocktails at 6 pm and a buffet dinner at 7. Numerous special awards will also be presented during the evening.