Patriot Sprint Tour Returns to Black Rock this Friday

Patriot Sprint Tour Logo

Patriot Sprint TourFrom Rich Vleck

Rochester, NY — (April 29, 2012) — In this 10th season of Patriot Sprint Racing only one speedway has hosted a PST-sanctioned event in each of the first nine years: Black Rock Speedway; after this Friday night that streak will move to 10.

This Friday, May 4, the Black Rock Speedway in Dundee, NY will host a Patriot-sanctioned race for the 32nd time, the most in series history. It will be the first of three trips for the Patriots to the Yates County Power plant in 2012. With $10,000 going to the PST America Series Champion, there is no question the 4/10-mile will be a critical component of the title chase.

This Friday’s race will also be unique because not only is it the 2nd Annual Insinger Race Fuels Spring Sprint Nationals, the United Racing Company will make their first of two trips to New York to strengthen the event. Like the PST, URC was plagued by inclement weather this past weekend and because of a cancellation will now kick off their season this Friday.

With just one race in the book, the championship picture is wide open, with Steve Poirier currently holding the lead over Tommy Wickham, Chuck Hebing and Bryan Howland. Defending series champion Jared Zimbardi is not only looking to rebound from his rough start, but he is looking to pick up from where he left off last August, when he scored the A-Verdi Championship, the most recent Patriot race at Black Rock.

Among the other Patriot competitors that have won at Black Rock that are expected to be in attendance include Penn Yan’s Lance Yonge, Rock Stream’s Tim Kelly, 2004 Track Champion George Suprick, Bobby Breen, Justin Barger and Alain Bergeron. A plethora of drivers that have yet to grace Black Rock victory lane in a sprint car that are expected include Don Adamczyk, Scott Kreutter, Steve Collins, Dave Wickham, Todd Hoddick, Clint Ide, Paul Habeck, Charlie Donk, Steve Hutchinson, Sam Reakes IV, Kevin Ward Jr. Jessica Zemken and Brandan Warner, just to name a few.

Pit gates will swing open at 5:00 P.M., with hot laps getting under way at 6:00 P.M. Racing will kick off at 6:45 P.M. For more information, visit

Patriot Sprint Tour History at Black Rock

Races: 31

9/6/2003- Scott Bonnell

4/24/2004- Rich Swarthout

5/22/2004- Lance Yonge

6/5/2004- George Suprick

6/12/2004- George Suprick

6/19/2004- George Suprick

6/26/2004- Bobby Breen

7/2/2004- Rick Wilson

7/10/2004- Chuck Hebing

7/17/2004- George Suprick

8/7/2004- Blake Breen

8/14/2004- Blake Breen

9/4/2004- Chuck Hebing

9/11/2004- Trevor Lewis

8/13/2005- George Suprick

9/10/2005- Trevor Lewis

8/12/2006- Chuck Hebing

9/9/2006- Curt Michael

5/18/2007- Chuck Hebing

5/19/2007- Travis Rilat

8/11/2007- Jared Zimbardi

8/8/2008- Justin Barger

5/15/2009- Bobby Breen

8/7/2009- Trevor Lewis

4/30/2010- Chuck Hebing

8/6/2010- Bryan Howland

9/10/2010- Bobby Breen and Alain Bergeron (Preliminary Events)

9/11/2010- Justin Barger

5/7/2011- J.J. Grasso

7/8/2011- Chuck Hebing

8/12/2011- Jared Zimbardi