USAC United States Auto Club CRA California Racing Association Logo

From Lance Jennings

SANTA MARIA, CA – MAY 29, 2012… Officials with the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series have confirmed that a $250 bonus will be up for grabs this Saturday to the highest finishing 360 powered car. The bonus, issued by the United States Auto Club (USAC), is set to encourage more participation and a larger fan base to USAC/CRA’s first event at Yuma’s Cocopah Speedway.
Per USAC/CRA rules, local 360 iron-block powered Sprint Cars can run their local/series approved Hoosier tires on all four corners. Cars must pass a tech inspection and one-way radios are mandatory for drivers. USAC/CRA charges a $25 entry fee to all competitors, which includes a transponder rental. Aluminum block 410 powered cars must run either a Hoosier HT2, HTW (105x18x15), DT3, or F55 Right Rear tire.
Saturday’s $250 360 bonus will be paid in addition to the regular purse of $2500-to-win and $300-to-start the feature. Local cars are also eligible to participate in the group’s Contingency Program that awards sponsor certificates to fast time, heat race winners, semi-main winner, hard charger, and more. Twenty (20) cars will start the feature if car count is 27 or less and twenty-two (22) cars will start the A-Main if the car count is 28 or more.
Mike Spencer, the 4-time champion, leads the point chase and will battle a talented roster of drivers including Nic Faas, Ryan Bernal, Matt Mitchell, Austin Williams, Brody Roa, “The Ripper” Rip Williams, “The Kruser” Cory Kruseman, Seth Wilson, Cody Williams, David Bezio, Josh Ford, and many more.
Joining the first appearance of the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series at Cocopah Speedway will be the popular Factory Stocks. The pit gates will open at 2:00pm, spectator gates will open at 5:00pm, and racing at the fast 3/8-mile facility will start at 7:00pm.
Cocopah Speedway is located at the intersection of US Highway 95 and County 15th Street in Somerton, Arizona. Adult tickets are $15, Senior/Military tickets are $13, a Family Pass is $30, and Children (12 & Under) are FREE. Pit Passes are $30. For more information, visit or call (928) 344-1563.
The Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series would like to thank Hoosier Tire, Circle Track Performance, Competition Suspension Inc., DJ Safety, Diversified Machine Inc., Extreme Mufflers, Hilborn Fuel Injection, Integra Shocks, Keizer Wheels, LRB Inc. Race Products, Ringers Gloves, Rod End Supply, SBI Fuel Systems, Saldana Racing Products, and Sander Engineering for their support.
For more information on the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series, visit or follow the series on Facebook ( or Twitter (!/USAC_CRA).
1. Mike Spencer 344; 2. Nic Faas 324; 3. Ryan Bernal 278; 4. Matt Mitchell 258; 5. Austin Williams 244; 6. Brody Roa 216; 7. Rip Williams 211; 8. Richard Vander Weerd 195; 9. David Cardey 177; 10. Seth Wilson 174; 11. Cory Kruseman 167; 12. Jace Vander Weerd 163; 13. Cody Williams 157; 14. David Bezio 127; 15. Greg Alexander 104; 16. Josh Ford 99; 17. Jake Swanson 86; 18. Tony Everhart 41; 19. Josh Pelkey 51; 20. Rusty Carlile 34.
09/29/89: Ron Shuman – Alex Morales Inc. #2 (CRA)
03/07/92: Lealand McSpadden – Frank Lewis #91 (CRA)
11/07/92: Mike Kirby – Danny Pivovaroff #59 (CRA)
03/06/98: Richard Griffin – Ron Chaffin #50 (SCRA)
June 2: Cocopah Speedway – Yuma, AZ
June 15: **Ocean Speedway – Watsonville, CA
June 16: **Santa Maria Speedway – Santa Maria, CA
June 30: Route 66 Motorplex – Victorville, CA
July 4: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Firecracker 30)
July 28: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (California Racers Hall of Fame Night)
August 10: **Ocean Speedway – Watsonville, CA
August 11: **Santa Maria Speedway – Santa Maria, CA (Wagscash)
August 18: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA
September 1: **Calistoga Speedway – Calistoga, CA (Louie Vermeil Classic)
September 2: **Calistoga Speedway – Calistoga, CA (Louie Vermeil Classic)
September 5: **Silver Dollar Speedway – Chico, CA (Non-Points)
September 15: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA
October 6: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Southern California Fair)
October 26: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Hall of Fame Classic)
October 27: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Hall of Fame Classic)
November 2: *Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Budweiser Oval Nationals)
November 3: *Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Budweiser Oval Nationals)
* = Co-Sanctioned Event With USAC National Sprints.
** = Co-Sanctioned Event With USAC Western Classic Racing Series.
This schedule is subject to change.