Cody Hahn Hustles To Billy Anderson Memorial Victory at Princeton

Cody Hahn in victory lane. - Victory Lane photo courtesy of Vince Peterson at Track Rat Photos.

Cody Hahn in victory lane. - Victory Lane photo courtesy of Vince Peterson at Track Rat Photos.
From Greg Parent

Princeton, MN — (June 1, 2012) — Riding the rim around the high side of the 1/4 mile Princeton Speedway, Cody Hahn passed Scott Broty on lap 10 for the lead and went on to score a popular victory in the 11th Annual Billy Anderson Memorial on Friday night June 1. Hahn became the eighth different winner of the event on what turned out to be an entertaining evening of racing for the Upper Midwest Sprintcar Series (UMSS) only appearance at the track in 2012.

With a big smile Hahn stated, “My car was working real well up top, a place that you usually don’t see me run a lot. It’s great to win this event. Thanks to everyone involved.” For Hahn it was a memorable evening, as the young driver just recently accepted a job offer in Grand Forks, ND and will be moving up there. Hahn, the 2009 UMSS Rookie of the Year and 2010 UMSS Champion, has only missed one UMSS race ever in his career which spans back to the very first show for the series in 2009. Hahn has now added a Billy Anderson Memorial win to go along with his Mighty Axe Nationals victory during his championship season in 2010.

With no threat of adverse weather, the UMSS was able to run their usual double-round of qualifying races for the Billy Anderson Memorial. Jared Goerges and Tony Norem topped the Ultimate Sprint Heats while Scott Broty and Jerry Richert, Jr. earned Challenge Race victories. Andy Jones was the high point driver following the two rounds of qualifiers, and he drew the number six pill for the feature race invert. This put Goerges and defending Billy Anderson Memorial champion Richert on the front row for the 25 lap feature race. The cars of Sye Anderson and rookie James Broty were eliminated during heat race action when they crashed together on the front stretch.

Jared Goerges, the 2010 UMSS Rookie of the Year, led the opening lap of feature. Scott Broty got by two-time Billy Anderson Memorial winner Richert on the opening lap for second and quickly moved by Goerges for the lead on lap two. Norem went from fourth to second on lap four with Richert in third and Hahn in fourth. Two laps later, Hahn drove around Richert for third and set his sights on Norem. On lap nine, Hahn blew around Norem and one lap later drove by Broty for the top spot. The lone caution waved with 13 laps scored for a 360 loop by Tony Kaus and a spin in turn four by sixth place runner Chad Patterson.

Hahn steadily pulled away during the remaining twelve lap green flag run to the checkers to record the win. Billy Anderson, Jr. presented the trophy to Hahn in victory lane. Broty ran a solid second ahead of Norem, Richert and Jones. Rounding out the top ten finishers were Rob Caho Jr, Anna Kouba, Goerges, Kaus, and Patterson in the third UMSS race of the 2012 season.

The UMSS makes its first of three appearances at the North Central Speedway in Brainerd on Saturday June 9 for the popular Kids Nights promotion. Sprint car fans can follow the UMSS on their website at or become a friend of the UMSS on their Facebook page in order to follow the action during the season.

UMSS Race Results – Princeton Speedway June 1, 2012 (Race #3)
11th Annual Billy Anderson Memorial:
Alpha Apparel & Promotions Ultimate Sprint Race #1 (7 laps): Jared Goerges, Cody Hahn, Chad Patterson, Anna Kouba, Tori Knutson, Tom Nicholl, Tony Kaus DNF.
Meeks Video Ultimate Sprint Race #2 (7 laps): Tony Norem, Andy Jones, Rob Caho Jr, Scott Broty, Jerry Richert Jr, Sye Anderson DNF, James Broty DNF.
GRP Motorsports Challenge Race #1 (8 laps): S Broty, Jones, Kaus, Patterson, Knutson, Goerges DNF, Anderson DNS.
Mastell Brothers Trailer Service Challenge Race #2 (8 laps): Richert, Norem, Hahn, Caho, Nicholl, Kouba, J Broty DNS.
RPM Graphics Billy Anderson Memorial Feature (25 laps): Hahn, S Broty, Norem, Richert, Jones, Caho, Kouba, Goerges, Kaus, Patterson, Nicholl, Knutson, Anderson DNS, J Broty DNS.
Lap Leaders: Goerges 1, S Broty 2-9, Hahn 10-25.
Cautions: (1)