Crawley clinches USCS Speedweek 2012 title with Round #6 Finale win at Columbus



Columbus, MS – June 2, 2012 – United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear National points leader Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas clinched the USCS Sprint Speedweek 2012 six race mini-series Championship on Saturday night in the 15th Annual USCS “Battle at the Bullring” Finals at historic Columbus Speedway. Crawley raced from his outside front row starting position past K&N Pole Position starter, seventeen year-old USCS young gun Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina into the lead in turn one of the 30-lap USCS Sprint Speedweek 2012 Finale and never looked back as he made his second stop of the week in the USCS victory lane at the famed 3/10 mile clay oval. He also won the USCS Sprint Speedweek 2012 Round #5 main event on Friday night. The win on Saturday night was Crawley’s fourth USCS feature win of the 2012 season.


Talented USCS Rookie of the Year contender, Brandon Hanks from Burlison, Tennessee reached the  USCS victory lane in the runner-up spot followed by defending series National Champion Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee in the in the K&N Filters Podium Award third place. The 2008 USCS National Rookie of the Year, Anthony Nicholson also from Bartlett, Tennessee followed in fourth place and 2010 USCS National Rookie of the Year, Morgan Turpen from Oakland, Tennessee, the only female driver in the field, rounded out the top five drivers.


Casey Rowland from Nesbit, Mississippi headed the next group of finishers in sixth place. Justin Carver from Drummonds, Tennessee followed Rowland across the finish line in seventh place in a borrowed ride after laying waste to the power plant in his regular mounting during the Goodyear Speed Dash. The 2010 USCS Mid South regional series Rookie of the Year, Jerod Roller also from Hernando, Mississippi finished in eighth place. The 2006 USCS Rookie of the Year and the only other multiple 2012 USCS feature winner (2 wins), Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas followed in ninth place. Hagar was running in the runner-up spot in the race on lap seventeen when a tangle with a lapped car sent him to the rear of the field and additionally sidelined Wade Oliver from Southaven, Mississippi who was in third place at he time behind Hagar and Crawley. The 2010 USCS Southern Thunder Rookie of the Year, Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina rounded out the top ten drivers.


Eric Riggins, Jr. also kicked off the evening’s action with a trip to the victory lane in the six-lap Goodyear Speed Dash. Tim Crawley won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Riggins also won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat. Derek Hagar won the Schoenfeld Third Heat race.


For passing the most cars in the main event, Anthony Nicholson, who started fifteenth and finished fourth garnered the evenings Wilwood Disc Brakes “Hard Charger” Award. Brandon Hanks collected the J.E. Pistons Top Guns award that rotates from first through fifth places for his second place finish. Terry Gray earned the K&N Filters Podium Award for his third place finish in the A-Main. Morgan Turpen earned the Keizer Aluminum Wheels top Five Award and Eric Riggins, Jr. received the DMI/Bulldog Top Ten Award.


The next United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear Outlaw Thunder Tour Speedweek 2012 is the Round #6/Finale event at East Alabama Motor Speedway ( ) on Friday, June 15th and Saturday, June 16th  @8:00pm each night.  For a complete USCS schedule and rules, etc., please visit or call 770-460-7223.


USCS presented by Goodyear Speedweek 2012 Round#6  results at Columbus Speedway, June 2, 2012


Goodyear Speed Dash 6-laps: Eric Riggins, Jr., Derek Hagar, Anthony Nicholson, Terry Gray, Tim Crawley and Casey Rowland.


Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Tim Crawley, Wade Oliver, Ray Bugg, Justin Carver, Jason Breeland, Clint Weiss, Lee Moore and Justin Carver.


Butlerbuilt Second Heat: Eric Riggins, Jr., Timmy Thrash, Brandon Hanks, Jeff Willingham, Greg Merritt, Michael Herrington and Nathan Cook.


Schoenfeld Headers Third Heat: Derek Hagar, Jerod Roller, Terry Gray, Casey Rowland, Morgan Turpen, Anthony Nicholson and Lee Sowell DNS.


USCS presented by Goodyear feature race (30-laps) results at Columbus Speedway, June 2, 2012


  1. 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR
  2. 3H Brandon Hanks, Burlison, TN – Rookie of the Race
  3. 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
  4. 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN – Wilwood Disc Brakes Hardcharger
  5. 80 Morgan Turpen, Oakland, TN
  6. C4 Casey Rowland, Nesbit, MS
  7. 13 Justin Carver, Drummonds, TN
  8. 5 Jerod Roller, Hernando, MS
  9. 9Jr Derek Hagar, Marian, AR
  10. 47 Eric Riggins, Charlotte, NC
  11. 09 Timmy Thrash, Gulfport, MS
  12. 0x Clint Weiss, Seale, AL
  13. 28 Jeff  Willingham, Ripley, MS
  14. 58 Wade Oliver, Southaven, MS
  15. 7 Michael Herrington, Gonzales, LA
  16. 25 Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS
  17. 12m Greg Merritt, Nesbit, MS
  18. 06 Jason Breeland, Sandy Hook, MS
  19. 1A Lee Moore, Tuscaloosa, AL


Did Not Start:

  1. 2 Lee Sowell, Nesbit, MS
  2. 4 Nathan Cook, Oakland, TN
  3. 87 Tristan Tidmore, Hernando, MS


USCS presented by Goodyear Sprint Car Race Awards:
Goodyear Speed Dash winner award: #47 Eric Riggins, Jr.
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat winner award: #88 Tim Crawley
Butlerbuilt Second Heat winner award: #47 Eric Riggins, Jr.
Schoenfeld Headers Third Heat: #9Jr. Derek Hagar

K&N Filters Pole Award: #47 Eric Riggins, Jr.
Wilwood Eng. Hard Charger Award: #16 Anthony Nicholson
JE Pistons Top Guns Award: #3H Brandon Hanks (2nd  place)
K&N Filters Podium Award: #10 Terry Gray (3rd place)
Keizer Wheels Top Five Award: #80 Morgan Turpen

Diversified Machine Inc/DMI Top 10 Award: #47 Eric Riggins, Jr.