Hagar Wins at East Alabama Speedway


uscsFrom Pete Walton

Phenix City, AL – (June 15, 2012) – The 2006 United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear Rookie of the Year, Derek Hagar from Derek Hagar started 12th and raced into the USCS victory lane for his career-eighth USCS sprint car feature win at East Alabama Motor Speedway on Friday night. It was his third win of the 2012 season. Jeff Swindell, from Bartlett, Tennessee crossed in the runner-up position followed by 2010 USCS Rookie of the Year, Morgan Turpen from Oakland, Tennessee in the K&N Filters third place. Rookie of the Year contender, Stacy Mashburn from Newnan, Georgia followed in fourth place and Danny Martin, Jr. from Sarasota, Florida rounded out the top five drivers. The 2010 USCS Southern Thunder regional series Rookie of the Year, Eric Riggins, Jr. led the next group to the finish line with a sixth place finish. National point’s leader Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas finished seventh followed by Matt Linder from Hoschton, Georgia in eighth place. Former USCS Southern Thunder regional Champion, Johnny Bridges from Cherryville, North Carolina followed in ninth place in the highest finishing Ford powered sprint car. USCS sprint car veteran Brian Thomas from Pendergrass, Georgia rounded out the top ten finishers in the main event.