Michael Miller becomes 5th different Winner of the Helton Memorial Race


uscsFrom Pete Walton

Phenix City, AL – June 16, 2012 – The 2000 United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear Rookie of the Year, Michael Miller from Ocean Springs, Mississippi raced to the biggest win of his career by winning the 5th Annual Randy Helton Memorial Race at East Alabama Motor Speedway on Saturday night. Miller who raced with and was personal friends with the race’s namesake, Randy Helton from Palmetto, Georgia (who’s favorite track is the site of his memorial event) said ” I was saying come on Randy help me hold on, I know he was riding with me in this one.” as he upset a talented field of drivers from six states including fourteen previous USCS feature winners for the big win.

After starting from the K&N Filters Pole Position, Miller led every lap while holding off veterans Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas and Jeff Swindell from Bartlett, Tennessee the entire distance including the last thirteen caution-free laps of the twenty-five lap contest after a lap twelve caution period brought them back up on his rear bumper. Crawley got the runner-up paycheck and Swindell finished in the K&N Filters Podium Award third place. The previous night’s winner Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas finished fourth in this one and 2010 USCS Southern Thunder regional series Rookie of the Year, Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina completed the top five.

Former USCS Southern Thunder regional series Champion, Johnny Bridges from Cherryville, North Carolina in his Ford powered sprint car led the next group to the finish line with a sixth place finish. The races 2011 Champion and 2010 USCS Rookie of the Year, Morgan Turpen from Oakland, Tennessee finished seventh this time around. Matt Linder from Hoschton, Georgia followed in eighth place. The 2008 USCS Rookie of the Year, Anthony Nicholson from Bartlett, Tennessee and defending series National Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee rounded out the top ten finishers in the main event.

Additional race details:
Tim Crawley kicked off the evenings sprint car action by charging to a win in the Goodyear Speed Dash. Derek Hagar won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Johnny Bridges won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat. Tim Crawley garnered the Wilwood Hard Charger Award for the driver who advances the most positions in the main event after improving five positions in the main event.

The next USCS presented by Goodyear Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint car event is next Saturday, June 23rd at historic Cleveland Speedway in Cleveland, Tennessee. For rules, schedules and/or more information on these and other USCS Outlaw Thunder events please call 770-460-7223 or visit www.uscsracing.com

United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear USCS Outlaw Thunder results:
East Alabama Motor Speedway – June 16, 2012.

Goodyear Speed Dash: Winner = Tim Crawley, Eric Riggins, Jr., Matt Linder, Derek Hagar, Johnny Bridges and Morgan Turpen.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Winner = Derek Hagar, Michael Miller, Eric Riggins, Jr., Bob Auld, Nick DeFeo, Brian Thomas, Joe Larkin, Stacy Mashburn and Jason Day.

Butlerbuilt Second Heat: Winner = Johnny Bridges, Morgan Turpen, Matt Linder, Jeff Swindell, Tim Crawley, Danny Martin, Jr., Anthony Nicholson, Terry Gray and Kyle Amerson.

USCS presented by Goodyear results Feature 25-laps
East Ala. Motor Speedway – Saturday, June 16, 2012:

1 – 4m Michael Miller, Ocean Springs, MS – 2012 randy Helton Memorial Champion
2 – 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR
3 – 94 Jeff Swindell, Bartlett, TN
4 – 1a Derek Hagar, Marion, AR
5 – 47 Eric Riggins, Jr., Charlotte, NC
6 – 07 Johnny Bridges, Cherryville, NC
7 – 80 Morgan Turpen, Oakland, TN
8 – 1x Matt Linder, Hoschton, GA
9 – 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN
10 – 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
11 – 83 Bob Auld, Largo, FL
12 – 67 Brian Thomas, Pendergrass, GA
13 – 96d Nick DeFeo, Marietta, GA
14 – 33 Joe Larkin, Suwannee, GA
15 – 29 Kyle Amerson, Matthews, AL
16 – 33m Stacy Mashburn, Newnan, GA
17 – 82 Danny Martin, Jr. Sarasota, FL
18 – 4Q Jason Day, Cherryville, NC

USCS Sprint Car Race Awards:
Goodyear Speed Dash winner: Tim Crawley www.racegoodyear.com
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat Award: Derek Hagar www.englermachine.com
Butlerbuilt Second Heat Award: Johnny Bridges www.butlerbuilt.net
K&N Filters Pole Award: Michael Miller www.knfilters.com
Wilwood Eng. Hard Charger Award: Derek Hagar (started 7th finished 2nd ) www.wildwood.com
JE Pistons Top Guns Award: Derek Hagar (4th place) www.jepistons.com
K&N Filters Podium Award: Jeff Swindell (3rd place) www.knfilters.com
Keizer Wheels Top Five Award: Eric Riggins, Jr. www.keizerwheels.com
Diversified Machine Inc. Top Ten Award: Terry Gray www.diversifiedracing.com