Tim Crawley races to 5th USCS win of the season at Cleveland Speedway


uscsFrom Pete Walton

Cleveland, TN – June 23, 2012 – United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear National points leader, Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas raced to his fifth USCS feature win of the season at Cleveland Speedway on Saturday night in front of the largest crowd of the last decade at the historic oval. Crawley started outside K&N Filters Pole Award recipient and defending Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee. Crawley led Gray on one and all of the way to the www.rockauto.com USCS victory lane for the fifth time in fifteen starts this season. Gray came home in the runner-up position followed by 2010 USCS Southern Thunder regional series Rookie of the Year, Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina. The 2006 USCS Rookie of the Year and 3-time 2012 feature winner Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas finished fourth. 2008 USCS Rookie of the Year Anthony Nicholson from Bartlett, Tennessee completed the top five.

Second generation sprint car driver Matt Linder from Hoschton, Georgia led the next group to the finish line with a sixth place finish. Sixteen year-old rookie sprint car driver Brandon Hanks from Burlison, Tennessee finished seventh followed by former USCS Southern Thunder regional series Champion, Johnny Bridges from Cherryville, North Carolina in eighth place. Another impressive USCS Rookie of the Year, candidate, Tristan Tidmore from Hernando, Mississippi finished in the ninth position. Nick DeFeo from Marietta, Georgia -+rounded out the top ten finishers in the main event. All drivers who started the main event except one completed the distance.

Additional race details: The 2010 USCS Rookie of the Year, nineteen year-old, Morgan Turpen from Oakland, Tennessee was running in the third position in the main event when she was involved in a tangle with a lapped car on lap ten. Her car was too damaged to continue.

Tim Crawley kicked off the evenings sprint car action by charging to a win in the Goodyear Speed Dash. Crawley also won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat. Morgan Turpen won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat. Matt Linder garnered the Wilwood Hard Charger Award for the driver who advances the most positions in the main event after improving five positions in the main event.

The next USCS presented by Goodyear Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint car event is next Friday, June 29th at Malden Speedway in Malden Speedway in Malden, Missouri. The USCS race at Malden is part of the USCS Super Dirt Week 2012 featuring all three United Speed Contest Sanction divisions during four racing events over eight days. The United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear winged sprint cars, the K&N Filters USCS Modified Touring Series and the www.rockauto.com USCS 600 Sprint Car Series are featured at three events during the week. Those USCS triple header events are at Malden Speedway on Friday, June 29th, Crowley’s Ridge Speedway in Paragould, Arkansas on Tuesday, July 3rd and Batesville Speedway in Batesville, Arkansas on Friday, July 6th.

The Clarksville Speedway event on Saturday, June 30th features a USCS double-header for the United Sprint Car Series winged sprint cars and the www.rockauto.com USCS 600 Sprint Car Series winged mini sprints on the same racing card.

For rules, schedules and/or more information on these and other USCS Outlaw Thunder events please call 770-46 0-7223 or visit www.uscsracing.com

United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear USCS Outlaw Thunder results:
Cleveland Speedway – June 23, 2012.

Goodyear Speed Dash: Winner = Tim Crawley, Eric Riggins, Derek Hagar, Jr., Morgan Turpen Matt Linder and Johnny Bridges.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Winner = Tim Crawley, Tristan Tidmore, Eric Riggins, Jr., Derek Hagar, Anthony Nicholson, Matt Linder, Brandon Hanks and Joe Larkin.

Butlerbuilt Second Heat: Winner = Morgan Turpen, Terry Gray, Johnny Bridges, Nick DeFeo, Bob Auld, Ray Bugg, Aubrey Black and Stacy Mashburn.

USCS presented by Goodyear results feature 30-laps Cleveland Speedway on Sat., June 23, 2012:

1 – 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR
2 – 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
3 – 47 Eric Riggins, Jr., Charlotte, NC
4 – 1a Derek Hagar, Marion, AR
5 – 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN
6 – 1x Matt Linder, Hoschton, GA

7 – 3H Brandon Hanks, Burlison, TN
8 – 07 Johnny Bridges, Cherryville, NC
9 – 13 Tristan Tidmore, Hernando, MS

10 – 96d Nick DeFeo, Marietta, GA

11 – 21 Aubrey Black, Lookout Mountain, GA
12 – 25 Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS
13 – 33m Stacy Mashburn, Newnan, GA
14 – 83 Bob Auld, Largo, FL
15 – 33 Joe Larkin, Suwannee, GA
16 – 80 Morgan Turpen, Oakland, TN

USCS Sprint Car Race Awards:
Goodyear Speed Dash winner: Tim Crawley www.racegoodyear.com
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat Award: Tim Crawley www.englermachine.com
Butlerbuilt Second Heat Award: Morgan Turpen www.butlerbuilt.net
K&N Filters Pole Award: Terry Gray www.knfilters.com
Wilwood Eng. Hard Charger Award: Matt Linder (started 11th finished 26th ) www.wildwood.com
JE Pistons Top Guns Award: Anthony Nicholson (5th place) www.jepistons.com
K&N Filters Podium Award: Eric Riggins, Jr. (3rd place) www.knfilters.com
Keizer Wheels Top Five Award: Anthony Nicholson www.keizerwheels.com
Diversified Machine Inc. Top Ten Award: Nick DeFeo www.diversifiedracing.com