Ziehl Wins at Central Arizona

Rick Ziehl. - Image courtesy of Central Arizona Speedway
Rick Ziehl. - Image courtesy of Central Arizona Speedway
Rick Ziehl. – Image courtesy of Central Arizona Speedway

Casa Grande, AZ — (April 20, 2013) — After starting in the fifth position, Las Cruces NM driver Rick “The Real Deal” Ziehl claimed the $1,500 Winged Sprint Car feature Saturday night in dominating fashion.  Anthony Madrid left his Modified at home and brought his Pure Stock to the track and left with the feature win. Chaz Baca Jr claimed the Mod-Lite win while Cliff Cormany won the Mini Sprint feature.


The $1,500 to win purse attracted 10 cars, and Lance Norick and Joshua Williams won the heat races.  Steve Lohn and Norick shared the front row for the 25-lap feature which needed several tries to get a lap in.  Once the racing resumed, Norick shot to the early lead while Ziehl was working his way up and Williams was on a mission from the back.  Ziehl took over the top spot and checked out.  Williams raced into second with just a few laps left, but Ziehl was already gone as Ziehl cruised to the win.  Williams finished second, the last car on the lead lap.  Norick finished third, after spinning in turn 2 on the last lap and not completing the lap.  Steve Stone was credited with fourth ahead of Darrell Sickles.


The 19-car Pure Stock grid saw Ty Weidener and Danny Curry take the heat race wins.  Justin Thornton’s night was over early after carburetor issues.  Terry Churchwell and Anthony Madrid shared the front row for the feature.  Madrid jumped to the early lead while Churchwell, Curry, Weidener and Bo Partain fought for positions.  An early cauton saw Partain make a pit stop and restart last.  Madrid again took the lead, but Partain was on a mission from the back as he was determined to get back up front.  Madrid took the win with Partain putting on a driving clinic and finishing second ahead of Weidener, rookie Ryan Eaden and Danny Curry.


The 14-car Mini Sprint field dropped after David Tardiff and Brandon Hacker both had engines expire in the heat race.  Dave Van Ess and Jacob Hawkins claimed the heat races.  Ashley Huggins and Jarrett Martin shared the front row for the feature.  Dustin Cormany jumped to the early lead with Jacob Hawkins and Colton Hardy in close pursuit.  Hawkins showed Cormany the fast lane, just to make the pass nullified by a caution.  After the caution, Cormany changed his line and Hawkins wasn’t able to get by. Cormany took the win over Hawkins, Hardy, Van Ess, and Joe Pitts.  Colton Hardy claimed the Dash for the Mini Sprints.


The AMA Modlite division brought a healthy 16-car field to do battle.  Chaz Baca Jr and Nick Gann claimed the heat races, while Brenden Priest claimed the trophy dash.  Priest and Gann led the field to the green flag in the main event.  Baca came from the fifth position to take over the lead and storm to the win.  Gann took second over Priest, Mike Martin and Jimmy Terstriep.


Central Arizona Raceway will be idle until May 4th when the IMCA Modifieds return along with the Super Stocks, Pure Stocks, X-Mods, and Renegades.


General admission tickets will go on sale at 4:00 pm

Feature Results:

1. Rick Ziehl
2. Joshua Williams
3. Lance Norick
4. Steve Stone
5. Darrell Sickles
6. Steve Lohn
7. Brent Mckeene
8. Ryan Murphay
9. Kaylene Verville
10. Doug Spurlock