UNOH All Stars Head to Pennsylvania This Weekend

2013 ASCoC All Star Circuit of Champions Logo Tease

From ASCoC

CAMARGO, Ill. – You can’t blame the drivers of the University of
Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions if they are a little more
excited than usual to head back to Central Pennsylvania. It’s no secret the
UNOH All Star drivers have struggled against the tough competition of the
drivers known as the “PA Posse.”  But last fall, current UNOH All Star
point leader Dale Blaney gave the series competitors a shot in the arm when
he scored a victory against the Posse at Port Royal Speedway.

“We’re looking forward to going back to Central Pennsylvania…probably more
so than we have in a long time. We finally got a win there last year and I
have a lot of confidence. The guys have give me a fantastic car every race
this year,” said Blaney, who also leads the All Star’s Eastern Region and
Ohio Region points.

“I’ve never won at the Grove. I’ve run good there….have had some top five
finished. I know we can do it. A lot of things will have to fall our way,
but I’m confident we have the car and the team to get a win there,” added

And why wouldn’t the UNOH All Star drivers feel confident? Blaney has a
series win this season at Attica and recently scored an open win at
Lernerville Speedway. Pennsylvania native Tim Shaffer, who has won the last
four straight All Star Championships, is coming off an open win at Fremont
Speedway. And, Pennsylvania resident Danny Holtgraver scored a win in
February in one of the biggest 360 sprint victories in the country and the
new team has shown signs they will be a force to be reckoned with. Cap
Henry nearly got his first All Star win at Attica last month and is coming
off one of his most successful seasons with the All Stars.

The UNOH All Stars head to the famous Williams Grove Speedway in
Mechanicsburg, PA. on Friday, April 26 and then head to the prestigious Bob
Weikert Memorial at Port Royal Speedway in Port Royal, PA. Both events are
point races for the UNOH All Star’s Eastern Region which will pay the
champion at year’s end $20,000!

The Bob Weikert Memorial – run in honor of the late sprint car owner who
fielded cars for some of the most famous drivers in the history of the
sport, the famous Beefmobile #29 cars – has quickly become one of biggest
races in the history of the track and All Stars over the past few years.
This year will be no exception as the feature will pay the winner $10,000.

With a total A-main purse of over $34,000 along with nearly $4,000 in
contingency cash to be distributed via lap money, heat wins, fast time
award and more, Port Royal is sure to attract the region’s best drivers.

Last year at the Bob Weikert Memorial, Greg Hodnett pocketed $12,900 that
included lap money. It was the second win in a row in the prestigious event
for Hodnett and third overall. But, All Star regulars Danny Holtgraver and
David Gravel completed the podium.

Again this year, each lap of the 30-lap Weikert feature will pay $100 to
lead and fast time will be worth $200. Thanks to CRANKWERKZ, a feature hard
charger will be awarded $100 to go along with the highest driver in Port
Royal points that fails to qualify taking home $100. Each heat race will
also pay $100 to win in memory of late motorsports journalist Jere Reigle.

But, while the UNOH All Stars have experienced success at Port Royal, they
have yet to break through the win column at Williams Grove. Last year when
the series visited the famous track in April, then high school senior Logan
Schuchart, grandson of hall of famer Bobby Allen, scored his first ever All
Star win and his first victory at the half-mile oval. He defeated Danny
Dietrich and Donnie Kreitz. Schuchart is coming off his first career win
last weekend at Lincoln Speedway.

Fred Rahmer and his new team have been on fire as of late as he leads the
points at Williams Grove. Dietrich also has a win as does Cory Haas. Brian
Montieth sits second in the track’s points with Kreitz, Lance Dewease and
Ryan Taylor rounding out the top five.

So far this season at Port Royal, NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Dave “The
Buckeye Bullet” Blaney opened the track’s season with a win. Other winners
include Rick Lafferty, Doug Esh, and recently Chad Layton. Blane Heimbach
leads the track’s points over Layton, Lafferty, Dylan Cisney and Mike

After nearly a month off, the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions are ready
to battle the PA Posse this coming weekend.

Go to for more information.