Hodnett Wins at Bedford

Greg Hodnett. - Rick Rarer Photo

From Bedford Speedway


Bedford, PA — (June 9, 2013) — For the second year in a row, Greg Hodnett snagged the 410 Sprint car event held at Bedford Sunday night.  In companion events, Robby Black scored the Limited win before Jarrod Barclay took the 4 Cylinder finale.

     The Sprint car 30 lapper got off to a rough start as Logan Wagner  stopped on the track causing a yellow on lap one.  Keith Kauffman also retired on that lap before the field restarted. Once underway again, the field ran off cleanly with Chad Layton  the early leader.   Hodnett was up to second on lap two and instantly began to chop into Layton’s lead.  Hodnett closed  distance in each lap, and with a banzai move in turn three whipped in to  the lead on lap 10.
      After taking the lead, Hodnett   instantly opened up a gap over Layton and was well ahead by the next caution slowdown on lap 15.  On the restart, Hodnett  opened up a huge gap on second place Layton over the last 15 all green laps, heading to a straightaway win.  Layton held on for second, followed by Mike Wagner, who had chased Hodnett to his 2012 win at the track, Lance Dewease and Dan Dietrich.  Doug Esh, the fast timer, led the second five ahead of Logan Shuchart, Jack Sodeman Jr, Jacob Allen and Brandon Spithaler.   Spithaler and Keith Kauffman won the heats.
     Young Kyle Lee was the early Limited Late Model leader before Dave Leidy took over on lap five.  Leidy’s run at the front was short lived as Robby Black blew by both Lee and Leidy to take over on lap seven and took over.  When Leidy dropped out a lap later, Lee resumed second place and set out after Black.  He closed the distance over the last eight laps, but Black held on to score his third Bedford win of the season.  Lee held on for second, his best career Bedford finish,  ahead of Ron Bottenfield, DJ Troutman, Mike Altobelli Jr , Curtis Heath, Donnie Farlling, Travis Wilson and Nathan Lasalle,   Altobelli was doing a one race stint in the J&S Salvage X car.   Craig Perigo and Black won the heats.
     Once again the best race of the night was the 4 Cylinder event.  Pole sitter Ryan Peer led early but Jarrod Barclay closed fast.  Lap after lap Barclay was all over Peer for the lead as Dan Jackson and  first time starter Ron Boozel went at it for third.   Barclay finallt took the long way around the outside of Peer on lap nine for the lead, which he held to the finish.  Peer took second, ahead of a fast closing oozel,  Cale Martin who started dead last in the field,  EJ JOhnson, Garrett watkins, Nick Iski and Pat Breahm  who had joined Martin on the last row starting spot.  Peer, Iski and Barclay won the heats.
410 SPRINT 30 LAP  1   Greg Hodnett,  Chad Layton,  Mike Wagner,  Lance Dewease,  Dan Dietrich,  Doug Eash,  Logan Shuchart,  Jack Sodeman Jr,  Jacob Allen,  Brandon Spithaler,  Troy Fraker,  Dan Sheltler,  Brent Matus,  Bob McMillan,  Adam Anderson,  Brandon Matus,  Ryan Lynn,  Keith Kauffman,  Logan Wagner.
LIMITED 18 LAPS  1  Robby Black,  Kyle Lee,  Ron Bottenfield,  DJ Troutman,  Mike Altobelli Jr,  Curtis Heath,  Donnie Farlling,  Travis Wilson,  Nathan Lasalle,  Craig Perigo,  Dave Leidy,  Larry Foor
4 CYLINDER 12 LAP  1  Jarrod Barclay,  Ryan Peer,  Chad Boozel,  Cale Martin,  EJ Johnson,  Garrett Watkins,  Nick Iski,  Pat Breahm,  Steve Frederick,  Matt Diehl,  Dan Jackson,  Brandon Conrad,  John Diehl,  Hockensmith, Mike Meck,  Duane Rhodes,  Bailey Johnson,  Nathan Altobelli,  Wayne Brenise,   Martin,  DNS  Hostettler, Jordan Helsel..