USAC United States Auto Club Southwest Sprint Car Series Logo tease

USAC United States Auto Club Southwest Sprint Car Series LogoFrom Dick Jordan

Charles Davis Jr. of Buckeye, Ariz. trails R.J. Johnson by 64 points in the standings going into a July 13 USAC Southwest Sprint race at Arizona Speedway in Queen Creek, Ariz. Last Saturday night’s victory at Peoria, Ariz. vaulted him into the all-time lead in terms of USAC feature winners in the Grand Canyon State.

Davis posted his ninth career USAC victory in the state of Arizona, winning Saturday night’s “Summer Sizzle” USAC Southwest Sprint feature at Canyon Speedway Park. Driving the Massey Motorsports entry, he caught Johnson on the last lap and beat him to the checkered flag! Johnson, the series point leader, was second ahead of Josh Pelkey, Mike Martin and Bruce St. James.

Davis entered the race in a logjam of five drivers with eight career Arizona USAC wins and now stands at the head of the class with nine.

2013 USAC Southwest Sprint Car Standings: 1-R.J. Johnson-618, 2-Charles Davis Jr.-544, 3-Mike Martin-511, 4-Shon Deskins-478, 5-Josh Pelkey-462, 6-Ronnie Clark-436, 7-Chris Bonneau-417, 8-Andy Reinbold-355, 9-Brian Hosford-346, 10-Stevie Sussex-334.