Bubak notches first URSS win of season

URSS United Rebel Sprint Series Top Story



By the URSS


HOLYOKE, Colo. — After a spectacular rookie season, Jake Bubak was waiting to add to his win total in the United Rebel Sprint Series in 2013.


On Saturday, Bubak won his fifth URSS feature event, this time at Phillips County Speedway in Holyoke, Colo.


“It’s nice to get that first win out of the way,” Bubak said. “Hopefully that will be the hardest one to get this year.”


Bubak won four races last season but hadn’t graced victory lane this year yet. Until Saturday night.


“We had finished fourth about every single night,” Bubak said.


“In the heat race, the track was good. Then it got greasy. Everyone was pretty much up on top early. I went up there in the feature, and the track was gone. Everyone was on the bottom then. I got around some people, then Luke Lucero spun by a lap car.”


That gave Bubak an opportunity, and he took full advantage to win his first race of the year.


Adam Trimble was second, with John Jacob in third and Zac Taylor in fourth. Patrick Bourke was fifth.


Heat race winners were Bubak and Bourke.


The Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard-Charger Award went to Trimble, who started ninth and finished second.


Feature results

1. Jake Bubak, 2. Adam Trimble, 3. John Jacob, 4. Zac Taylor, 5. Patrick Bourke, 6. Mark Walinder, 7. Brian Hardman, 8. Nate Berry, 9. Butch Hardman, 10. Greg Reiners, 11. Jeff Heffner (DNF), 12. John Webster (DNF), 13. Luke Lucero (DNF), 14. Coby Pearce (DNF), 15. Darren Berry (DNF).