USCS Headlines Clayhill Clash on August 3

uscs4wideFrom Pete Walton


Atlanta, GA — (July 30, 2013) — The United Sprint Car Series ( ) Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint cars return to Clayhill Motorsports in Atwood, Tennessee ( ) on Saturday, August 3rd for the 8th Annual “Clayhill Clash”.  The event pays $2000 to the winner and $300 to the last place starter in the 30-lap A-Main. Additionally the event will award USCS National points and points toward the 2013 Championship in the USCS Mid-South Thunder Tour regional sprint car series. The 2006 USCS Rookie of the Year, and current National points leader, Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas won the 2012 USCS Sprint Car Speedweek Round #3 on Memorial Day, Monday, May 27th.

The challenging 3/8 mile red clay oval has been the venue for a number of exciting USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint car events over the past decade and always proves to be one of the most popular tracks on the USCS schedule with both drivers and fans. Additionally on the racing card will be a full program of racing that also includes the weekly racing Nesmith Late Model Dirt Series, Open Wheel Modifieds plus, Hobby, Street Stock, Pure Street and two Hummer FWD4 weekly racing divisions.

A number of previous Clayhill Clash champions are expected to be entered. Those include not only USCS points leader, but defending (2012) series Champion, Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas plus Marshall Skinner from West Memphis, Arkansas and 10-time series Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee.

The Clayhill Motorsports venue is a fan favorite with air conditioned restrooms and one of the best and most modern concession stands found in short track racing. The track is located at 1315 Rimmer Road, Atwood, Tennessee 38220. The info phone number is 731-669-3939.