Larson Still Leads Iowa Speed Week Points

Kyle Larson. - T.J. Buffenbarger
Kyle Larson. - T.J. Buffenbarger
Kyle Larson. – T.J. Buffenbarger

From Bob Baker


Knoxville, IA — (August 7, 2013)  —  After night seven, when David Gravel of Connecticut won the opening night of the 53rd FVP Knoxville Nationals, defending “Mr. Sprint Car” Kyle Larson is still on top of the 2013 Cox Design & Metal Fabrication Iowa Speed Week point standings.  Night number eight is Thursday, August 8, with the second preliminary night of the World of Outlaws (WoO) FVP Knoxville Nationals at the famed Knoxville Raceway.


The unofficial top ten in the 2013 Cox Design Iowa Speed Week points after seven nights is as follows:  1., Kyle Larson, 240 points; 2., Kevin Swindell, 195 points; 3., Jason Johnson, 193 points; 4., Shane Stewart, 191 points; 5., Brian Brown, 189 points; 6., Brad Sweet, 184 points; 7., Justin Henderson, 179 points; 8., Don Droud, Jr., 148 points; 9., Brandon Wimmer, 144 points; 10., Randy Hannagan, 139 points.


The Cox Design & Metal Fabrication Iowa Speedweek includes ten straight nights of sprint car racing between Knoxville Raceway and the Southern Iowa Speedway.  The top three places pay $2,500, $1,000, and $500, respectively, with the winner declared the Jesse Hockett “Mr. Sprint Car” titlist.  Past “Mr. Sprint Car” titlists include Ricky Logan (2002) of Arkansas, Shane Stewart (2003, ’04) of Oklahoma, Billy Alley (2005) of Nebraska, Jason Johnson (2006) of Louisiana, Wayne Johnson (2007, ‘08) of Oklahoma, Terry McCarl (2009) of Iowa, Sammy Swindell (2010, ‘11) of Tennessee, and Kyle Larson (2012) of California.