Johnson Wins With Final Lap Pass at TMS

ascs lucas oil national tour 2012 logo tease

From Bryan Hulbert

Ft. Worth, TX — (September 21, 2013) — A late night at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track yielded one of the most exciting finishes of the 2013 Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real season as Jason Johnson got the last corner pass on Johnny Herrera for his second straight Port-a-Cool U.S. Dirt Track Championship.

Entering the final turns, Herrera found himself bound up behind a slower car, forcing the Print Place No. 45x to pitch the car down the track. At the same time, Johnson set sail to the low line but found his MVT No. 41 at the mercy of the ruts, sending Johnson bouncing into Herrera exiting turn four for the win.

Asked about the move at the end, Johnson admitted the pass was not what he wanted it to be, “That wasn’t a slide job that was just bouncing through the ruts. I didn’t know if he was going to get caught behind the No. 94, or get patient and I went to the bottom and just got to bouncing. I think we made contact, but it definitely wasn’t meant.”

Johnson, who gridded the field fifth ran around that spot for the first nineteen laps as Dustin Morgan led the first six revolutions before surrendering the point to Travis Rilat in slower traffic. The No. 29t led until a restart on Lap 22 when the Left Rear began going flat on the No. 29t, allowing Herrera to capture the lead.

Ultimately, Herrera crossed the stripe with a flat right rear caused by contact with the retaining wall after charging to the lead from nineteenth. Seth Bergman crossed third with Aaron Reutzel capitalizing on a late race restart to come from eleventh to fourth. Brad Loyet completed the top five.

Channin Tankersley was scored sixth with Tony Bruce, Jr. making strides from eighteenth to seventh. Dustin Morgan ended up eighth with Sam Hafertepe, Jr. ninth. Logan Forler completed the top ten.

Checking in 46 drivers, Heat Races numbered five with Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Logan Forler, Jason Johnson, Dustin Morgan, and Aaron Reutzel earning wins. B-Feature wins went to Tony Bruce, Jr. and Blake Hahn. The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real returns to action on Friday, September 27 and Saturday, September 28 with the 3rd annual Hockett/McMillin Memorial and the Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real
Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track – Ft. Worth, Texas
Port-a-Cool U.S. Dirt Track Championship
Saturday, September 21, 2013

Car Count: 46

Wesmar Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 1A-Sam Hafertepe Jr[1]; 2. 71-Channin Tankersley[4]; 3. 4AM-Mike Goodman[3]; 4. 27-Andy Shouse[2]; 5. 22-Koby Barksdale[8]; 6. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[5]; 7. 12W-Dale Wester; 8. 81-Danny Wood[9]; 9. 72-Chris Tarrant[10]; 10. 69-Larry Howery[7]

Ti22 Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 2L-Logan Forler[3]; 2. 7M-Kevin Ramey[6]; 3. 19-Patrick Stasa[2]; 4. 17H-Harli White[1]; 5. 45X-Johnny Herrera[5]; 6. 17C-Ray Allen Kulhanek[9]; 7. 03-Joe Wood Jr[8]; 8. 12W-Dale Wester[7]; 9. 17J-Josh Baughman[4]

Rod End Supply Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[2]; 2. 95-Matt Covington[3]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman[8]; 4. 12M-Kolt Walker[5]; 5. 94-Jeff Swindell[9]; 6. 25M-Michael McNeil[7]; 7. 74E-Claud Estes III[4]; 8. 58-Gary Floyd[6]; DNF 10-George White[1]

Saldana Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 93-Dustin Morgan[4]; 2. 29T-Travis Rilat[6]; 3. 05-Brad Loyet[8]; 4. 45B-J.P. Bailey[1]; 5. 29-Brandon Hahn[7]; 6. 69X-John Ricketts[3]; 7. 21-Michele Melton[2]; 8. 45-Martin Edwards[5]; 9. 5X-Tyson Hall[9]

BMRS Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel[1]; 2. 11-Justin Melton[3]; 3. 1-Sean McClelland[7]; 4. 17-Blake Hahn[5]; 5. 4X-Shawn Petersen[4]; 6. 4J-John James[6]; 7. 22K-Kevin Barksdale[9]; 8. 17T-Bruce Griffith Jr[8]; DNF 22X-Scott Evans[2]

DMI B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 17-Blake Hahn[2]; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera[5]; 3. 17H-Harli White[4]; 4. 03-Joe Wood Jr[8]; 5. 17W-Cole Wood[9]; 6. 19-Patrick Stasa[1]; 7. 17C-Ray Allen Kulhanek[3]; 8. 25M-Michael McNeil[6]; 9. 74E-Claud Estes III[10]; DNF 45-Martin Edwards[13]; DNF 22X-Scott Evans[14]; DNF 72-Chris Tarrant[12]; DNF 21-Michele Melton[11]; DNF 4J-John James[7]; DNS 10-George White

The Joie of Seating B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[7]; 2. 81-Danny Wood[9]; 3. 27-Andy Shouse[3]; 4. 4X-Shawn Petersen[5]; 5. 12W-Dale Wester[11]; 6. 58-Gary Floyd[12]; 7. 69-Larry Howery[14]; 8. 17T-Bruce Griffith Jr[10]; DNF 45B-J.P. Bailey[4]; DNF 5X-Tyson Hall[13]; DNF 69X-John Ricketts[8]; DNF 22K-Kevin Barksdale[6]; DNF 29-Brandon Hahn[2]; DNF 12M-Kolt Walker[1]

Protect the Harvest A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[5]; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera[19]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman[4]; 4. 87-Aaron Reutzel[11]; 5. 05-Brad Loyet[3]; 6. 71-Channin Tankersley[9]; 7. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[18]; 8. 93-Dustin Morgan[2]; 9. 1A-Sam Hafertepe Jr[10]; 10. 2L-Logan Forler[7]; 11. 17-Blake Hahn[17]; 12. 95-Matt Covington[12]; 13. 1-Sean McClelland[8]; 14. 94-Jeff Swindell[14]; 15. 17H-Harli White[21]; DNF 29T-Travis Rilat[1]; DNF 17W-Cole Wood[23]; DNF 7M-Kevin Ramey[6]; DNF 11-Justin Melton[13]; DNF 4AM-Mike Goodman[16]; DNF 22-Koby Barksdale[15]; DNF 27-Andy Shouse[22]; DNF 81-Danny Wood[20]

Lap Leader(s): Dustin Morgan (1-6), Travis Rilat (7-22), Johnny Herrera (23-29), Jason Johnson (30) Hard Charger: Johnny Herrera +17
FSR High Points of the Night: Dustin Morgan
Hawk Performance Products Fastest Lap of the Night: Jason Johnson – 15.295 seconds
Provisionals: Cole Wood (BP2)

2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-8, Jeff Swindell-5, Johnny Herrera-3, Roger Crockett-3, Brian Brown-3, Logan Forler-2, Brad Loyet-2, Danny Lasoski-2, Kyle Bellm, Jack Dover, Seth Bergman, Jonathan Cornell, Tony Bruce, Jr., Travis Rilat, Justin Henderson, Shane Stewart, Tim Crawley

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 4,457; 2. Johnny Herrera 4,412; 3. Jeff Swindell 4,235; 4. Brad Loyet 4,213; 5. Tony Bruce, Jr. 4,091; 6. Logan Forler 4,060; 7. Seth Bergman 3,912; 8. Dustin Morgan 3,735; 9. Cole Wood 3,553; 10. Brandon Hahn 2,890;

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of nine different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters,, Engler Machine and Tool, Roush Yates Racing Engines, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Fuel Bladders, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Xtreme Accu-Tach, Simpson, LeJoie Seating, Ti 22 Performance, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.