Terry Gray races to USCS prelim win at Senoia Raceway on Friday

Terry Gray Tim Aylwin photo
Terry Gray Tim Aylwin photo
Terry Gray
Tim Aylwin photo

From Pete Walton


Senoia, GA – (September 20, 2013) – Ten time United Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters National Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee added another notch in the USCS win column at Senoia Raceway on Friday night. Gray who started from the K&N Filters Pole Position, bested defending USCS National Champion Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas who finished in the runner-up spot for the win in the 20-lap Senoia Summer Nationals IV night one preliminary. Gray’s team-mate, twenty year old female sprint car star Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee raced across the finish line in third place. Current USCS National point’s leader, Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas finished in fourth place and Rookie of the Year contender, Curt Terrell from Bartlett, Tennessee completed the top five drivers at the finish.


Former USCS regional series Rookie of the Year, Lee Moore from Moundville, Alabama who won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat Rsce, finished ahead of the next group of drivers in sixth place. Another Top Rookie contender, Taylor Tidmore from Hernando, Mississippi followed in the seventh position. The 2012 USCS Rookie of the Year, Jeff Willingham from Ripley, Mississippi followed in eighth place. Ageless veteran racer Ray Bugg from Iuka, Mississippi finished in ninth place and Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina completed the top ten drivers.


Derek Hagar won the Hoosier Tire Speed Dash. Terry Gray then and then took a victory in the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat . Lee Moore held of a hard charging Tim Crawley for the win in the Butlerbuilt Second Heat. After the first heat race winner (Hagar) drew a six in the K&N Filters Pole Award drawing and awarded the K&N Filters Pole Position to eventual feature winner Terry Gray. Tim Crawley advanced the most positions in the main event to earn the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hardcharger Award.


The next USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour event will be the USCS vs. URC North vs. South Challenge on Friday, October 4th at Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, North Carolina. Eric Riggins, Jr. was the winner of the April 12,, 2013 Carolina Speedway event for the USCS sprint cars. On Saturday, October 5th the USCS and URC Sprint Series continue the double-header weekend challenge at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, South Carolina.

For rules, updated schedules and other info on the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint car series 2013 and 17th annual National tour please visit www.uscsracing.com or call 770-865-6097.


USCS Outlaw Thunder Main Event-Senoia Raceway-Friday, September 20, 2013

USCS Hoosier Speed Dash: Derek Hagar, Terry Gray, Morgan Turpen, Taylor Tidmore and Curt Terrell. Eric Riggins, Jr. – DNS
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: winner Derek Hagar, Morgan Turpen, Terry Gray, Jeff Willingham and Eric Riggins, Jr. Michael Miller, Jake McLain, , Darren Orth, Bob Auld, Joe Larkin, Matt Hope.
Butlerbuilt Second Heat: Lee Moore, Tim Crawley, Taylor Tidmore, Curt Terrell and Ray Bugg.
USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour main event 20-laps :
1. 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
2. 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR
3. 10m Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
4. 9Jr. Derek Hagar, Marion, AR
5. 27 Curt Terrell, Bartlett, TN
6. 1A Lee Moore, Tuscaloosa, AL
7. 13T Taylor Tidmore, Hernando, MS
8. 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
9. 25 Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS
10. 47 Eric Riggins, Jr., Charlotte, NC


USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour Race Awards:

Hoosier USCS Sprint Speed Dash: 9jr. Derek Hagar

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: 9Jr. Derek Hagar

Butlerbuilt Second Heat Award: 1A Lee Moore

K&N Filters Pole Award: 27 Curt Terrell

K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award:10m Morgsan Turpen

Wilwood Disc Brakes Hardcharger Award: 88 Tim Crawley

DMI/Bulldog rear Ends top Ten Award: 47 Eric Riggins, Jr.