BOSS non-wing sprints, 360 vs. 305 sprint challenge and run-what-you-brung to end Fremont season

Fremont Speedway Tease
Brian Lay Bob Buffenbarger photo

By Brian Liskai


FREMONT, Ohio – Fremont Speedway will wrap up the 2013 racing season with a huge night of racing on Fort Ball Pizza Palace Night, Saturday, Oct. 5. The event will feature the Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series (BOSS), a 360 verses 305 sprint challenge and “run-what-you-brung” stocks, trucks, modifieds and four-cylinder compacts.


The BOSS non-wing sprint cars will be making their second appearance at “The Track That Action Built” for 2013. In May Robert Ballou took the Mike Hensel Memorial victory over Levi Jones, Chase Stockton, Scotty Weir and Chris Andrews. There were 40 cars in attendance.

Fremont Speedway Tease

Coming into Fremont, Evans City, Pennsylvania’s Brandon Spithaler leads the BOSS points over Tony Beaber, Mike Miller, Aaron Middaugh and Kirk Jeffries. Jeffries picked up the BOSS win at Pittsburgh Pennsylvania Motor Speedway this past Saturday. After Fremont, the BOSS teams have only one race left in their 2013 schedule; Oct. 12 at Eldora Speedway.


Also, because the annual 305 verses 360 sprint challenge was rained out in August, Fremont Speedway Promoter Rich Farmer has added that event to the season-ending race on Oct.  5. The race will pay $2,000 to win and $200 to start.


Before the rains fell in August there were 43 cars that took qualifying attempts. The 360 sprints will take on the tough Fremont Federal Credit Union 305 Sprints led by track champion John Ivy, six time feature winner Nate Dussel and young guns like recent winner T.J. Michael, Tyler Gunn, feature winner Jordan Ryan, Jason Keckler and veterans like Bobby Clark, Paul Weaver and more.


Last year for the 360/305 sprint challenge, Fremont’s Zack Kramer took the win over Ivy, D.J. Foos, Steve Rando and Beau Stewart.


Joining the racing card will be the fun “run-what-you-brung.” There will be a late model/modified class, a stocks and trucks class and a compacts class.


The only rule is for the stocks and trucks – the motor can’t be set back any further than the #1 spark plug and even with the ball joint.


Last year some of the stocks and trucks had sprint car wings and big plexi-glass wings from front to rear bumper.


In the late model/modified class last year, Pete Dotson took the win over Ron Miller and John Mayes Jr. In the trucks and stocks, Tim Cole held off Shawn Valenti and Bob Dible for the victory. In the compacts, Mark Gillingham took the win over Maverick Wright and Brandon Myers.


For more information go to