ocean speedway Taco Bravo 360 sprint car series
By Steven Blakesley
 ocean speedway Taco Bravo 360 sprint car series
WATSONVILLE, CALIFORNIA (September 28, 2013) – “BK” Brent Kaeding scored an emotional win in tribute to his long-time supporter Al Peterson, winning his first Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo feature of 2013 on Friday night at John Prentice’s Ocean Speedway Watsonville.  Friday’s races marked the 15th round of the 17 round schedule.

Kaeding took the lead from 2012 Ocean Sprints champion Shane Golobic on a lap 20 restart and never looked back in taking the win.

The feature started 20 cars and was stopped on the opening lap when polesitter Eric Humphries spun and flipped into points leader Brad Furr.  Humphries was done for the evening while Furr restarted after making hasty repairs in the work area.

Jerry Bonnema led the opening lap of competition before a red flag for Nicholas Ringo clearing the turn one wall.  Furr used that stoppage to make a second stop to repair his machine.  Bonnema led the field back to green to lead lap two before Golobic, from the outside pole, took the top spot.  The leaders quickly caught up to lapped traffic and were nearly lapping Furr, before a red on lap six for Anthony Simone flipping on the frontstretch.

Kaeding was up to second by that point after starting eighth and chased after Golobic through traffic for the next 13 laps.  Bonnema maintained a top-five run until tangling with a lapped car and slamming the front stretch wall on lap 19.

2013 three-time race winner Bud Kaeding had charged from 16th starting position to fifth at that caution period, but the attention was focused on Brent Kaeding vs. Golobic.  Brent made a crossover move to the inside of Golobic in turn three to take the lead, with Golobic trying to come back at him.

On the following lap, Golobic spun on his own in turn four and was out of the race.  The event went caution free for the final 10 laps with Bud Kaeding mired in lapped traffic.  The traffic allowed Brent to stretch out a half track lead at the finish to take the victory.

Bud Kaeding was second with second in points Kurt Nelson having a great points day in third.  Furr used the well timed caution periods to stay on the lead lap and come home in fifth to maintain his points lead.

The DDNi Hard Charger Award was won by Bud Kaeding for his run from 16th to second, while Furr claimed the Ray Scheidt’s Electric Fast Time.  The Beer Optics Hard Luck Award went to Nicholas Ringo.  Heat race wins were claimed by Nick Rescino, Jr., Koen Shaw, and Brent Kaeding.

The next two consecutive Friday nights will see Ocean Sprints action to wrap up the championship season.  For more information on the Ocean Sprints log onto and for more on the Ocean Speedway visit

Ocean Speedway would like to thank Taco Bravo, Digital Delivery Networks, Nobel Construction, Get Som Sports, Ray Scheidt’s Electric, Hoosier Tires West, and Kaeding Performance for their support.

September 27, 2013 Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo

HEAT RACE 1: 11 Nick Rescino
HEAT RACE 2: 88 Koen Shaw
HEAT RACE 3: 69 Brent Kaeding
30 LAP FEATURE: 1) 69 Brent Kaeding, 2) 29 Bud Kaeding, 3) 72w Kurt Nelson, 4) 88 Koen Shaw, 5) 2 Brad Furr, 6) 25z Jason Chisum, 7) 11 Nick Rescino, Jr., 8) 199 Nick Foster, Jr., 9) Nick Ringo, Jr., 10) 8 Jeremy Chisum, 11) 39n Nathan Washam, 12) 98 Ryan Rusconi, 13) 5 Collin Markle, 14) 22 Shane Golobic, 15) 58 Jerry Bonnema, 16) 4x Tim Decarlo, Jr., 17) 10 Anthony Simone, 18) 83m Mike Stallings, 19) 3t Nicholas Ringo, 20) 33h Eric Humphries NT

LAP LEADERS: 58 Jerry Bonnema 1-2, 22 Shane Golobic 3-19, 69 Brent Kaeding 20-30