The Joie of Seating steps up for driver safety

2012 ASCs American Sprint Car Series Plain Logo Top story

From Bryan Hulbert


Tulsa, OK — (January 28, 2014) — Safety has been a big debate on Sprint Car racing over the past few months. The number of companies that have come forward with changes to the status-quo has been mind boggling, but one of the biggest changes in Sprint Car racing over the past 20 years has been in the design of the seats utilized in our sport.


One person that has been a key player in some of the innovations is Randy LaJoie.


Talking with the former two-time NASCAR Nationwide Champion at the Performance Racing Industries Tradeshow in Indianapolis this past year, he joked at times about the number of “damaged helmets” he has around his house.


While making light of the topic of conversation, his tone was ever serious as he reflected on the injuries sustained while racing; as a driver and an observer. If you read the “about” page on, you will find a humorous, but very poignant quote from Randy taking about his seats that states, “I’ve learned myself, because I’ve been a crash test dummy for quite a few years.”


Renewing his support with the American Sprint Car Series for the 2014 season, Randy LaJoie has radically changed his contribution.


Providing drivers with a dollar amount off in 2013 for winning a B-Feature at the National level, as well as providing discounts for season ending banquets, Randy will combine his resources to provide any driver, finishing in the top 10 of ASCS National and Regional standings, without a full containment seat a certificate good for 50% off one of his molded aluminum full containment seats.


“For Randy to offer this to our drivers really speak volumes to his commitment to the safety of our series, and our sport,” commented ASCS Director, Matt Ward.


Before taking over as director of the American Sprint Car Series, Ward competed regularly in Micros, Midgets, and Sprint Cars. “In all the seats I’ve used, LaJoie’s have been the most comfortable and durable and because of that experience, I’m fully supportive of what he’s offering our racers.”


The 2014 season for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real begins February 28 and March 1 at the Cocopah Speedway in Yuma, Ariz.


The 2014 season marks the twenty-third year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation.. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.


Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for information regarding availability and listings in your area.


Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix.


Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.


Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters,, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, The Joie of Seating, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, Speedmart, and Hilborn Injection Systems.


Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.