URSS Ready for Double Header Weekend

URSS United Rebel Sprint Series Top Story



The United Rebel Sprint Series will hit two states this weekend as the Kansas region will make their first of four stops at Red Willow County Raceway in McCook Ne on Friday night, May 16th and the Colorado Region will open their season Saturday afternoon at El Paso Co. Speedway in Calhan, Co.


Last weeks season opener winner at DCRP, Zac Taylor, will lead the Rebels along with last years National Champion Jake Bubak and many other of the URSS regulars as they take on the hometown hot shoes of Darren and Nate Berry and last weeks McCook weekly winner Ron Hadley on the ¼ mile high banked oval.


Also returning to the seat for the first time in many years, URSS founder Rick Salem will set aside his promoter hat and will pilot the Hilker/Schartz owned Sgt. Christopher Ryan Kruse 911 tribute car. When asked about driving in his series Salem commented “You know I’ve spent the last 8 years in the infield watching these guys in what I feel is the most affordable and the most competitive series I have ever seen. I’ve watched all the great racing and the fun these guys are having and have always wished this series would have been around when I was racing seriously. So when Steve Hilker called me last fall and asked if I would consider driving this car I was truly honored and decided I wasn’t getting any younger and it might be the last chance to experience what these guys have been doing now going on our 9th year”.


Friday nights races in McCook will start at 8pm.


Saturday the Rebels will open their Colorado Region at the El Paso County Speedway in Calhan, Co. Opening night for the Colorado Sprint Cars will have additional money added to the purse with the help of TriboDyn®. Saturday nights feature will pay $750 to win with added money throughout the field.


TriboDyn® 3 Stage Technology is a new patent pending lubricating compound that can be utilized in motor oils, gear lubes, greases, or other lubricating fluids. TriboDyn® has higher pressure and temperature capabilities, maintaining performance at extreme temperatures and pressure than any other lubricants currently on the market today.


The URSS Colorado region will have a strong contingent of new drivers coming into the series this year and will be met by a strong pack of regulars. Last years Colorado Champion Adam Trimble will look to defend his title along with 2013 National Champion Jake Bubak and Zac Taylor, last weeks winner at DCRP. Other winners at El Paso County Speedway ready for the upcoming season include veterans Patrick Bourke, Brian Hardman, Bob Schaeffer, Mike Hathaway and many others as they tackle the small “D” shaped oval in Calhan.


Races start at 2pm with gates open at 11