Bubak claims URSS Go in McCook

URSS United Rebel Sprint Series Top Story



Colorado’s Jake Bubak made his trip to Nebraska well worth it as he took top honors in the United Rebel Sprint Series A Feature at Red Willow County Raceway in McCook Nebraska.


North Platte Nebraska’s John Webster and home town favorite Darren Berry brought the field to the green flag with Webster taking the early lead.  At the end of lap 1 it was Webster, Berry and Rick Salem moving up from 6th to 3rd.


The red flag flew on lap 2 for a flipping Howard Van Dyke after tangling with a spinning Kade Hagans.  Keefe Hemel also was involved in the melee and sustained heavy damage, ending his night.  During the red, Salem was forced to change a flat left rear tire after contact with Berry and had to re-start in the back of the pack.  On the restart, Webster would lead the next 8 laps while Bubak had worked his way up to 2nd place by lap 9.


Lap 10 would see Bubak take the lead from Webster, with Zac Taylor taking over the 2nd spot with Webster, Berry and Zach Blurton rounding out the top 5. Blurton would make a strong move on lap 12 by getting by both Webster and Berry to take over 3rd.


The battle between Bubak and Taylor heated up when Taylor took the lead on lap 16 and lead for 3 laps until Bubak wrestled the lead back on Lap 19.  The race between Bubak and Taylor was epic until Taylor spun on the 23rd lap.


On the re-start with 2 laps to go, it was Bubak, Blurton, Berry, Salem and Webster in the top 5.  Salem would make a move on Berry on the last lap on the back straightaway only to run out of real estate and fall off the track relegating him to a 6th place finish behind the winner, Bubak, Blurton, Berry, Webster and Richardson.


Finishing out the top 10 was Taylor, Jeremy Huish, Aaron Ploussard and Kade Hagans.


Heat winners were Bubak and Salem with Zach Blurton taking the Keizer Wheels hard charger award moving up 5 spots from 7th to 2nd


A feature results

1.Jake Bubak 9x 2. Zach Blurton 2j 3. Darren Berry 12 4. John Webster 9 5. Steven Richardson 0 6. Rick Salem 911 7. Zac Taylor 86 8. Jeremy Huisch 88j

9. Aaron Ploussard 33 10. (DNF) Kade Hagans, 24 Nate Berry 20b, Austin McLean 83, Keefe Hemel 11, Howard Van Dyke 74