Riverside International Speedway hosts USCS Sprint Speedweek 2014 finale on Saturday

uscs united sprint car series logo tease 2014

From Pete Walton

Atlanta, GA – (May 28, 2014) – The United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters www.uscsracing.com concludes its highly competitive USCS Sprint Speed Week 2014 mini-series at historic Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Arkansas on Saturday, May 31st at 7:30pm. The race is entitled as the 9th Annual “Rumble at the River” at the 1/4-mile high-banked gumbo clay oval.

The race will be the final round of a six race over eight day mini-series at tracks located in a close proximity to one another in the Mid-South area. This event is also set to be race number fifteen on the season for the Nationally touring USCS sprint car drivers. The Riverside International Speedway event is expected to draw a large field of winged sprint car drivers. Drivers from at least six states are expected to enter the first three events on 5/24 at Jackson Motor Speedway (Jackson, MS), 5/25 Greenville Speedway (Greenville, MS) and 5/26 Clayhill Motorsports (Atwood, TN) from as far away as North Carolina. The 2013 USCS Sprint Speedweek events averaged 33 cars per event with 36 entering at Riverside International Speedway for the finale event in 2013. There’s no reason to believe Saturday, May 31st event will be any less well attended..

An action packed program awaits fans as the USCS presented by K&N Filters sprint car racing format will include test and tune hot laps followed by the evening’s first sprint car race, the Hoosier Speed Dash that showcases the top six cars from the previous USCS main event in an edge-of-your-seat six-car shootout. Next up will be qualifying heat races followed by Last Chance/B-Main race(s). The evening’s grand finale will be the 8th Annual 30-lap USCS “Rumble at the River” winged sprint car A-main event.

The race will award USCS presented by K& Filters National Championship points as well as USCS Mid-South Thunder regional series Championship points. The USCS Mid-South Thunder regional series primarily consists of races in Alabama, Arkansas, Mississippi, Missouri and West Tennessee.

Just a few of the noted drivers who are entered include ten-time and defending USCS National Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee plus the 2012 National Champion, Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas. Crawley leads the National point standings over female racer Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee. Hagar is the USCS Sprint Speedweek 2014 points leader and has won all three of the mini-series first three events as of Monday, May 26th. Hagar also tops the win list for the 2014 season with five main event wins. There have been seven different winners in those twelve 2014 main events.

Also on the racing program are several of Riverside’s weekly Saturday night racing divisions including the Limited Late Models, Riverside Stock Cars, Open Wheel Modifieds and the popular 305 Winged Sprint Cars.

For more information on Riverside International Speedway visit www.riversideinternationalspeedway.com The office number is 901-840-1970 and the race day phone number is 870-735-8071. For more information on the USCS Speed Week 2013 including the full 2013 schedule, please visit www.uscsracing.com . Call the USCS Office at 770-865-6097.

USCS Sprint Speedweek point standings as of May 26, 2014 after the Clayhill event.

Pos. Car# Driver Points

1 9Jr Derek Hagar, Marion, AR 450

2 26 Marshall Skinner,Marion, AR 430

3 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN 426

4 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR 408

5 3 A.G. Raines, West Memphis, AR 398

6 14z Zach Pringle, Bryant, AR 394

7 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN 390

tie 12 Dalton Davis, Millington, TN 390

9 94 Jeff Swindell, Bartlett, TN 388

10 13 Todd Fayard, Saucier, MS 384

11 44 Ronny Howard, Nesbit, MS 378

12 10M Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN 370

13 5 Jerod Roller, Hernando, MS 368

14 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS 358

15 12M Greg Merritt, Nesbit, MS 344

16 39 Brad Bowden, Hernando, MS 276

17 4M Michael Miller, Ocean Springs, MS 260

18 27 Curt Terrell, Bartlett, TN 242

tie 42 Andy McElhannon, Hernando, MS 242

20 32x Robert Richardson, Searcy, AR 240

21 13T Taylor Tidmore, Hernando, MS 222

22 1 Eddie Gallagher, Olive Branch, MS 220

23 3H Brandon Hanks, Burlison, TN 146

24 31G Cody Gardner, Little Rock, AR 142

tie 17 Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL 142

26 51 Joe B Miller, Millersville, MO 130

27 11 Jake Roach, Sardis, TN 122

28 33 Mark Huddleston, Mesquite, TX 116

tie 21 Kevin Hinkle, Cabot, AR 114

30 2 Brandon Kilpatrick, Strayhorn, MS 112

tie 46 Jan Howard, Marion, AR 112

32 n2 Ray Stevison, Biloxi, MS 108

33 22 Cody Howard, Byhalia, MS 106

34 57 Jason New, Byhalia 104