Fifth different winner in five URSS races as Clint Schubert wins #1 at Calhan

URSS United Rebel Sprint Series Top Story

From URSSurss

The home town favorite received a loud cheering roar from the crowd as he climbed out of his sprint car shaking fists to the sky as he claimed his first URSS Colorado victory. The familiar green and white Shubert Farm Depot #44 led green to checker after starting on the pole. A proud father and even more ecstatic new wife met him on the front straight to give her new husband a giant kiss in front of the fans as he received his trophy. ”I drove it like my midget and it worked, I’m so excited” said Clint. A proud father/ crew chief said “we hit the set up tonight and now we know what to do next time. I am proud of Clint.” Clint is the fifth different winner in as many races for the Colorado Rebels at El Paso County Speedway.

Kevin Schramek had his opportunity to re-coup some of the over 800 dollars his company, Schramek Landscape Materials, added to the purse. “I figured I would get a good pill draw for that” Kevin joked with officials. “Our company has been blessed and been doing well and I just want to give back” he added. Kevin finished a respectable fourth after chasing Schubert from the drop of the green flag and remained there until a last lap fourth corner pass by Jake Bubak who finished runner up after starting ninth.

Wiley veteran Mark Walinder finished third stating” I tried to pass Kevin a bunch tonight and raced him hard. I could have pushed it but it might have wrecked either him or me but that’s not my style. Third is better than wrecking two good cars.”

Tenth place starter Patrick Bourke made the long haul down from Gypsum Colorado to round out the top five.

Rookies’ Nic Sutton and Joey Schmidt finished sixth and seventh respectively while point leader Coby Pearce ended the race in eighth place. Scott Cochran was ninth and rounding out the top ten was John Jacob.

Heat race winners were Zac Taylor and Mark Walinder.

The mid-season Colorado Rebel point battle is tight as ever with leader Coby Pearce ahead of tenth place cousin Brian Hardman by only 36 points. A four way tie for second exists between rookies Mike Taylor and Nic Sutton, along with veterans Kevin Schramek and John Jacob. Rookie Joey Schmidt follows in sixth two points back with Luke Lucero, Clint Schubert and Scott Cochran right behind.

The Colorado Rebels will have a short break so they can attend the URSS National races in Wakeeney and Hays Kansas this weekend. If you can’t make the trip out to watch, please follow your favorite driver listening to !


Feature results

1 Clint Schubert
2 Jake Bubak
3 Mark Walinder
4 Kevin Schramek
5 Patrick Bourke
6 Nic Sutton
7 Joey Schmidt
8 Coby Pearce
9 Scott Cochran
10 John Jacob
11 Bob Schaeffer
12 Zac Taylor
13 Brian Hardman
14 Mike Taylor
15 Luke Lucero
16 Dustin McNeill

Jake Bubak receives the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger Award, moving up 7 spots to finish 2nd.