Mark Smith Wins URC Feature at Selinsgrove

urc United Racing Company Logo

From Bob Miller

Selinsgrove, PA — (July 26, 2014) — Mark Smith of Sunbury, PA won a thriller Saturday night at the Selinsgrove Speedway. Smith took the lead on lap fifteen after a battle with Derek Locke then held off a last lap challenge from TJ Stutts to earn his third Rislone URC Sprint victory of the season and his eighth career win. Stutts finished a strong second followed by Derek Locke, Jason Clauss and Brock Zearfoss. Smith earned $2,500 for the win in the 25 lap feature event.

A field of thirty sprint cars took part in the program with heat race victories going to Coby Womer, Brock Zearfoss and Curt Michael as Randy West won the “B” Main.

The 25 lap feature ran twenty-four laps without a caution with Coby Womer taking the early lead. Womer and Derek Locke thrilled the fans with a wheel to wheel battle for the lead with Locke taking the lead on lap five. Moving through the pack was Mark Smith in his MACH 1 Chassis sprinter.

Jason Clauss moved into the picture and the second place spot on lap ten. Clauss started to reel in the leader but now Mark Smith was in the hunt. On lap twelve, Smith powered into second with Clauss now third.

At the halfway point of the race, Locke continued to lead but Mark Smith was on the move. Smith caught Locke on lap fourteen and one lap later, Smith became the new leader. The battle on the track continued as TJ Stutts was now challenging Locke for second. With five laps remaining, Stutts moved into second. Also on a charge was Larry Kelleher who was racing Clauss for third.

The one and only caution of the race was displayed on lap twenty-four when seventh place runner Cody Keller spun in turn one.

On the restart, Smith and Stutts were ready for the one lap dash. At the drop of the green, Smith dove to the bottom of turn one as Stutts moved to the outside to take a run for the lead on the backstretch. Smith held the advantage and entering turns three and four, Stutts took another run at the leader. Smith held on for an impressive win with Stutts finishing second, Derek Locke third, Larry Kelleher fourth and Jason Clauss fifth.

Feature Finish: Mark Smith, TJ Stutts, Derek Locke, Larry Kelleher, Jason Clauss, Brock Zearfoss, Davie Franek, Jason Shultz, Josh Weller, Colby Womer, Curt Michael, Ryan Kissinger, Mike Walter, Jimmy Stitzel, Jordan Thomas, Michael Walter II, Cody Keller, Andy Best, Derek Steward, Ed Aikin, Brad Franks, Keith Prutzman, Wes Irwin, Shannon Fisher, Randy West. DNQ- – Mallie Shuster, Jonathan Swanson, Bobby Parrow, Brian Carber Troy Betts.

Fast Time- – Davie Franek

Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger- – Josh Weller advanced 11 spots