Short Wins Hoosier Sprint Nationals By a Nose

Brady Short. - James McDonald /

From Eldon Butcher

Haubstadt, IN – (August 2, 2014) – Brady Short won the 40 lap HoosierTire Midwest Sprint Car feature Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway. He became the first repeat winner for the 10th annual Hoosier SprintNationals. The Mitchell, IN, driver was at the wheel of the IndianaStone Works Sponsored, Spec powered, Maxim sprqint car. Don Shortserves as the crew chief. The victory was worth $5,000.

In victory lane Brady Short was not at a loss for words. He was excited! “It’s been two years since I’ve been in victory lane here but I’ve been in contention. It’s a lot of hard work! Cam Pottorff, the car owner is behind me 100%. He’s never won a race here at Haubstadt. He was thrilled when I called him.”

Brady Short passed pole sitter Kevin Thomas Jr. to take over the lead on lap six. The competition behind the two front runners intensified. The battle for third and fourth centered around veteran Jon Stanbrough, Kyle Cummins and Daron Clayton Cummins and Clayton were able to take the battle to the next level during the last 13 laps. Clayton passed Cummins on lap 27 and then Thomas a lap later to claim second. But it would be Cummins who passed Clayton back on lap 38 and then made a spirited charge to overtake Short on the lastlap. The two drivers banged wheels but never let up and crossed the finish line side by side.

Short relived those moments for the crowd listening to the post race interview. “I didn’t know where to go there at the end. I started losing a little bit in the center. I didn’t know if I needed to move down. I looked off four and there he (Cummins) was. We both stood on the gas and wheel banged. It was a lot of fun!”

Daron Clayton was third, Kevin Thomas Jr, next, and Jon Stanbrough finished fifth. Robert Ballou led the second five followed by Chase Stockon, Donny Brackett, Brandon Mattox, and Jeff Bland Jr. Brackett picked up the Keizer Aluminum Wheels Hard Charger of the Race Award with a gain of 9 positions in the feature. Chase Briscoe received the Wilwood Tuff Brakes Award after finishing eleventh.

The heat race winners were Brandon Mattox, Robert Ballou, and Daron Clayton, Daron Clayton earned the most passing points with a 110 point total.

The Hoosier Sprint Nationals was not a beneficial night for MSCS Rookie drivers. James Lyerla flipped in the feature. Daylan Chambers broke an axel after climbing up onto the fourth turn wall in his heat race. Nick Hale discovered engine problems early. Aaron Farney got involved in the four car spin on the first lap of the feature but was the most fortunate and completed the race collecting a 15th place finish.

The next MSCS event will be the “Return to Putnamville” on August 9th. The 30 lap feature will pay $3,000 to win. It is the second of five MSCS sanctioned races scheduled for August on Indiana dirt tracks.

Hoosier Sprint Nationals
Tri-State Speedway
Haubstadt, IN
August 2, 2014

Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series:
(21 Entries)

First Heat – 28 Brandon Mattox, 37rw Jon Stanbrough, 5b Chase Briscoe, 38w Chet Williams, 15f Aaron Farney, 11 James Lyerla, 02 Nick Hale (dns)

Second Heat – 12 Robert Ballou, 9k Kevin Thomas, 2x Chase Stockon, 04 Jeff Bland, 23 Brian Karraker, 4B Donny Brackett, 5ks Kent Schmidt

Third Heat – 92 Daron Clayton, 11p Brady Short, 3c Kyle Cummins, 21 Carson Short, 1 Mitch Wissmiller, 56F Jared Fox, 4c Daylan Chambers

Feature (40 Laps) – 11p Brady Short, 3c Kyle Cummins, 92 Daron Clayton, 9k Kevin Thomas Jr., 37rw Jon Stanbrough, 12 Robert Ballou, 2x Chase Stockon, 4b Donny Brackett, 28 Brandon Mattox, 04 Jeff Bland Jr. 5B Chase Briscoe, 21 Carson Short, 23 Brian Karraker, 5kx Kent Schmidt, 15F Aaron Farney, 38w Chet Williams, 11 James Lyerla, 56F Jared Fox 1 Mitch Wissmiller, 4c Daylan Chambers (dns), 02 Nick Hale (dns)