61st Anniversary Gold Cup Coming Up in September

silver dollar Speedway chico

silver dollar Speedway chicoFrom Elijah Jones

Chico, CA — (August 6, 2014) — The Fastest Four Days of Racing in California is fast approaching. The 61st Anniversary Gold Cup Race of Champions returns to the famed Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, CA on Wednesday, September 3rd thru Saturday, September 6th. The Speedway is offering a diverse, well-rounded line-up featuring the best wing and non-wing sprint car drivers in the World who will be competing throughout the four day event.

To purchase four day tickets to this event please visit our website at www.goldcup.silverdollarspeedway.com/ and click on the Tickets link to download a Ticket Pre-Order form. Tickets can also be reserved by calling the track office number at (530)-350-7275. The office is open Monday-Thursday from 9:00am-4:00pm. General Admission tickets to this event are also available and are sold at a cheaper price. Single Day ticket sales begin on August 15th.

Wednesday, September 3rd, the 61st Anniversary Gold Cup Race of Champions kicks off with the Civil War Sprint Car Series presented by Hoosier Tire along with the Joe Hunt Magnetos Wingless Sprint Shootout Series. The Civil War 360 Sprint Cars will be led by current point leader Shane Golobic out of Fremont, CA. Golobic has one Civil War win this year but has been consistently good each week. Chasing down Golobic though will be 3-time and defending Civil War Champion Sean Becker out of Roseville, CA and 7-Time Civil War Champion Andy Forsberg from Auburn. A large field of 360 sprint car are expected.

Morgan Hill, CA driver Tommy Laliberte leads the charge for the Joe Hunt Magnetos Wingless Sprint Cars. Laliberte was victorious at the Silver Dollar Speedway during Night 2 of the Silver Cup back in March, but Santa Rosa, Ca.’s Terry Schank Jr. is fresh off a recent victory at the Stockton Dirt Track and looks to continue to build momentum coming in to this event. Colton Slack out of Brentwood has been fast all year as well and looks to be in the mix. A strong field of cars is expected for both divisions on this night to kick off the Gold Cup Race of Champions.

Thursday Night marks the return of the CRA/USAC Sprint Cars for the first time since 2011 along with the USAC/BCRA Midgets. The USAC/CRA Sprint Cars have been dominated by 2-Time and defending Champion Damion Gardner of Concord, CA who has won 6 of the 12 races this year. Five-time USAC/CRA Champion Mike Spencer out of Temecula, CA and Huntington Beach driver Nic Faas have also been consistently fast and look to pull into victory lane during this illustrious event. The USAC/BCRA Midgets are led by Chad Nichols out of Daly City, CA but National Sprint Car/Midget Racing standout Rico Abreu out of Rutherford, CA is also expected to compete in this event. Rico is fresh off his first career Belleville Midget Nationals victory which marked his 15th win of the year. Shane Golobic also is scheduled to compete in the midget race on this night. Shane is fresh off his victory with the BCRA Midgets at the Placerville Speedway last Saturday Night, and looks to continue his success during night number two of the Gold Cup.

Friday and Saturday night of the Gold Cup Race of Champions are highlighted by World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series making its return to the Silver Dollar Speedway. This year the biggest story in all of sprint car racing is the upcoming retirement of “The King” Steve Kinser. Kinser, a 12-time Gold Cup Champion and 20-time WoO Champion who currently drives for NASCAR Superstar Tony Stewart. This year at the Gold Cup we will bid farewell to “The King” as he looks to go out on top with a 13th Gold Cup Title. Standing in his way are some of the best sprint car drivers in the World. Five-time WoO Sprint Car Champion Donny Schatz, out of Fargo, ND, looks to pick up his 2nd career Gold Cup triumph, his first coming ten years ago. Schatz, also is driving for the Tony Stewart Racing team, has been fast all year and is currently the WoO Points Leader. Also looking for his 2nd Gold Cup Victory is Pittsboro, Indiana’s Daryn Pittman who wheels the Great Clips sponsored #9 sprint car for Kasey Kahne Racing. Pittman picked up his lone Gold Cup Win in 2006 and is the defending Champion of the WoO STP Sprint Car Series. California Native, Paul McMahan from Elk Grove has been on fire during WoO Sprint Car competition this year. California native, McMahan, sits 3rd in the points and looks to pick up his first career Gold Cup win. All of the WoO heavy hitters will have to deal with the top 410 Sprint Car Drivers on the West Coast. Names like Jonathan Allard, Bud Kaeding, and Kyle Hirst will all be battling with the WoO regulars to try and tame the Silver Dollar Speedway and claim the title, Gold Cup Champion.