Davey Heskin Is UMSS King of KRA Sprint Challenge Winner

By Greg Parent
Willmar, MNumss

Davey Heskin of St. Michael led all 25 laps to capture the King of KRA Sprint Challenge title during the annual appearance of the Upper Midwest Sprintcar Series winged sprints at the KRA Speedway on Thursday August 14.  For Heskin, it was his second UMSS career win.  Brooke Tatnell had won the first two King of KRA races held in 2012 & 2013.  Tatnell was not hand, so a new winner of the event was an absolute certainty.  Heskin was challenged during the opening couple of laps by two-time series champion Jerry Richert, Jr. but opened up a comfortable lead during the remainder of the race.  The feature was only slowed once under caution with eight laps in for debris in turn three.  The final seventeen laps ran green to the checkers.  Heskin, driving for Pat Donnohue, earned $1,000 for the victory.
Ultimate Sprint Heats were won by Derrik Lusk and Chris Graf with Ryan Bowers and Heskin topping the Challenge Races.  Tony Norem was the high point driver and drew the seven pill for the feature race invert.  Norem however would not be able to start the feature, as his Seidenkranz Brothers B1st sprinter had developed a vibration and the team did not want to take any chances on causing damage to their car.  Thus, Norem was a scratch for the main event.  Richert and Heskin started on the front row.
The track had a good cushion up top, and although there was a bottom lane, it was not the fast way around on this night in Willmar.  Most of the cars rode the cushion.  Richert ducked under Heskin on the opening lap and again on lap two exiting turn two, but he was not able to gain the upper hand.  Following the lone restart with eight laps scored, Richert again tried to duck under Heskin without any success.  Heskin was followed at the checkers by Richert, Graf, Derrik Lusk, and Bowers in the top five.  Engine issues sidelined Jennifer Eriksen and Jared Goerges for the feature race.
The UMSS sprints continue their three race stretch at the Princeton Speedway on Friday August 15 for Night #1 of the 22nd Annual Kouba Memorial and conclude on Saturday August 16 for Night #2 of the Kouba Memorial at the St. Croix Valley Raceway.  Check out the news, results and other information on the UMSS website at www.umsprints.com or visit us on our Facebook page where several additional photos from our various racing divisions are posted.
UMSS Race Results – KRA Speedway August 14, 2014 (Race #16)
Meeks Video Ultimate Sprint Race #1 (6 laps): 93 Derrik Lusk, 63 Jerry Richert Jr, 03 Jamey Ogston, 91 Davey Heskin, 29L Nick Lusk, 91A Reed Allex.
Track Rat Photos Ultimate Sprint Race #2 (6 laps):  20G Chris Graf, B1st Tony Norem, 29 Leigh Thomas, 199 Ryan Bowers, 9 Jared Goerges, 10x Jennifer Eriksen.
Mastell Brothers Trailer Service Challenge Race #1 (8 laps): Bowers, Norem, N Lusk, D Lusk, Ogston, Allex.
Hoosier Racing Tire Challenge Race #2 (8 laps): Heskin, Thomas, Graf, Richert, Eriksen, Goerges DNS.
GRP Motorsports Feature (25 laps): Heskin, Richert, Graf, D Lusk, Bowers, Thomas, Ogston, N Lusk, Allex,  Norem DNS, Eriksen DNS, Goerges DNS.

Lap Leaders: Heskin 1-25.
Cautions: (1)