First win for Margeson at Skagit Speedway

From Skagit Speedway

Alger, WA — (May 30, 2015) — The seventh round of Dwayne Lane’s Family of Auto Centers Racing Series at Skagit Speedway was fun and fast, with the checkered flag flying on the night’s final main event at 859pm. Evan Margeson stood tall in victory lane when the dust settled on the night, scoring his first win at Skagit Speedway in only his second career appearance at the track in the 360 class. Joining Evan in victory lane were Kelsey Carpenter in the Northwest Focus Midget Series and Freddie Vela with the Outlaw Tuners.

In the 360 Sprint Car division, Margeson would start on the outside front row for the night’s 25 lap A Main, with Colton Heath on the inside pole. Margeson led from the get go and would lead all 25 with Heath right on his rear nerf nearly the whole way. Cautions on laps 4, 9, 16 and 23 would give Heath opportunities to drive underneath Evan on restarts, but Margeson was too strong around the outside of the track in taking his first win at Skagit Speedway . Heath would settle for second with Jayme Barnes racing his way into third. Heath was the night’s fastest qualifier, by one thousandth of a second over Margeson. Barnes, Greg Hamilton and Steve Reeves won the heat races.

Kelsey Carpenter continues adding accomplishments to his racing resume’ following a wire to wire 20 lap main event win with the Northwest Focus Midget Series. In his first night ever in a Midget, Carpenter used a bonsai move from the bottom of turn three to go from third to first in one set of turns in taking the lead. From there, he was never seriously challenged en route to the win. Carpenter has now won in four classifications of cars at Skagit Speedway, adding the Midget class trophy to his wins in the 410s, 360s and Sportsmen Sprints. Garrett Thomas made a late race pass for second. Dougie James was third. Tristin Thomas set fast time and he and James were the heat winners.

Freddie Vela made an impressive charge to win the main event in the Outlaw Tuners. Vela raced past Jack Desrosier for the lead on lap 10 and streaked away from the field to claim his fifth win on the year. Travis Meins rallied forward for second with Brandon Berg coming home third. Heat winners were Meins and Vela.

360 Sprints
Fast Time – Colton Heath 12.016
Heat 1 – Jayme Barnes, Travis Jacobson, Phil Schemenauer, Colton Heath, Steve James
Heat 2 – Greg Hamilton, Bud Ashe, Evan Margeson, Mike Bollinger, Lee Hornbeck
Heat 3 – Steve Reeves, Eric Fisher, Cory Samuelson, Justin Youngquist, Trevor Cook
Main – Evan Margeson, Heath, Barnes, Youngquist, Hamilton, Fisher, Reeves, Bollinger, Ashe, Samuelson, James, Jacobson, Schemenauer, Hornbeck, Cook
Lap Leaders – Margeson 1-25

Northwest Focus Midget Series
Fast Time – Tristin Thomas 14.801
Heat 1 –Tristin Thomas, Ryan Cully, Mike Vollbrecht, Thomas Walker, Doug Anderson, Al Goldie
Heat 2 – Dougie James, Garrett Thomas, Kelsey Carpenter, Nick Evans, Jeremiah Franklin, Ray Stebbins
Main – Kelsey Carpenter, G Thomas, James, Cully, Vollbrecht, Evans, T Thomas, Walker, Anderson, Franklin, Goldie, Stebbins
Lap Leaders – Carpenter 1-20

Outlaw Tuners
Heat 1 – Travis Meins, Jack Desrosier, Kayla Candaux, Dan Butenschoen
Heat 2 – Freddie Vela, Matt Powers, Brandon Berg, Jon Gunderson
Main – Freddie Vela, Meins, Berg, Powers, Gunderson, Candaux, Desrosier
Lap Leaders – Desrosier 1-9 Vela 10-17