Stornetta wins Hunt series feature at Placerville

From Peterson Media

Placerville, CA — (May 30, 2015) — Saturday night at the Placerville Speedway, Joe Stornetta made a high side move near the race’s halfway point to pick up his second Wingless Series Presented By Hunt Magnetos feature event win in only the series third race of the season.

Will Bill Macedo and Stornetta leading the field to green, it was Macedo getting the jump to grab the early lead as Stornetta would slip back and run in the third spot as Shane Myhre would settle into the second spot.

As Colton Slack over took Stornetta for third on the third lap, Stornetta would make a big move to by both Myhre and Slack on the fifth lap, as he began to chase after Macedo.

On a very slick racing surface, Macedo was very smooth as he worked the low side of the Placerville Speedway, as Stornetta patiently chased after him looking for a chance to take the top spot.

With the yellow flag waiving on the seventh lap, the field would bunch back up. With Macedo continuing to set he pace out front, second running Stornetta was trying to make something happen up top in turns three and four.

A full head of steam on the ninth lap saw the Napa, CA power into the lead, just before the caution would waive on the 10th lap, again bunching the field back up.

Behind Stornetta the action would heat up for the second spot as Colton Slack, Bill Macedo and Shane Myhre all battled, as Myhre continued to hold the position.

Stornetta would continue to lead as the race for second picked back up on the 16th lap as Slack and Myhre sliced, and diced as they engaged in a torrid battle.

As the white flag waived, Slack was able to get the position, but ran out of time for the race win, as Stornetta took the win, with Slack finishing second, Myhre third, Macedo fourth, and Scott Hall rounding out the Top-Five.

“I have grown up coming to Placerville Speedway, and have dreamed about winning on the red clay,” Stornetta said in victory lane. “We have been really fast with the Wingless Series presented by Hunt Magnetos so far, and hopefully we can continue to run well.”

Saturday night saw a total of 20 Wingless Series Presented By Hunt Magnetos cars check into the pit area with Tim Sherman Jr setting the standard in time trials.

With three heat races on the docket, wins would go to Gary Nelson, Jr, Colton Slack, and Scott Hall.