Illini midget series teams with POWRi for 2016

Illini Racing Series POWRI

Illini Racing Series POWRIFrom Derek Schuett

2016 POWRi/ILLINI Division II Midget Series Schedule

Millstadt, IL — (January 21, 2016) — The 2016 POWRi/ILLINI Lucas Oil Division II Midget Series Schedule has been released. With 29 events on tap for the inaugural season under the POWRi Racing banner, the series known as the ILLINI Racing Series has joined forces with POWRi in their 25th year of operation. The POWRi/ILLINI Lucas Oil Division II Midget Series has been created to help sustain a budget-minded racing series across the Midwest. “This is a great opportunity to celebrate our 25 years of racing by combining forces with POWRi,” said LaVerne Spencer, President of the ILLINI Racing Series. “I am looking forward to the excitement and energy we have in store for the drivers and race teams with our new rule package.”

After a successful inaugural showing at Jacksonville Speedway on October 9th in 2015, it would only be fitting the series to kick off 2016 back at Jacksonville Speedway on Friday, April 8th and come full circle with a two day season finale on October 14th and 15th. With an eventful inaugural schedule, the D II Midget Series will split their time amongst the tracks of Lincoln, Macon, Jacksonville, Belleville and Sycamore with special standout events amongst all tracks, a special fair race at the Champaign County Fairgrounds in Champaign, Illinois on Friday, July 22nd and the Illinois SPEED Week event at Quincy Raceways. For the Champaign County Fairgrounds event, the D II Midgets will join the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series on the opening night of the Champaign County Fair.

The most highly anticipated week of racing in Illinois, the Illinois SPEED Week is going on its fifth year of operation. The D II Midgets will be joining Illinois SPEED Week with the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series and the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series. Starting off Illinois SPEED Week at Belle-Clair Speedway on Wednesday, June 8th, the series will then head to Quincy Raceways on Thursday, June 9th. On Friday, June 10th Illinois SPEED Week will venture to Jacksonville Speedway before making the short jaunt to Macon Speedway on Saturday, June 11th. Illinois SPEED Week will conclude at Lincoln Speedway on Sunday, June 12th, resulting in the first D II Illinois SPEED Week Champion.

The 2016 season will conclude with a two day show at Jacksonville Speedway on October 14th and 15th resulting in the crowning of the inaugural POWRi/ILLINI Lucas Oil Division II Midget Series Champion.

Printable schedules can be found under the DOWNLOADS link located at the top of POWRi web site. 2016 POWRi/ILLINI Division II membership information will be released within the upcoming month.

Fri, April 8 Jacksonville Speedway
Fri, April 15 Lincoln Speedway
Fri, April 22 Jacksonville Speedway – National Midgets & Micro’s
Sat, April 23 Macon Speedway – National Midgets & Micro’s
Fri, May 6 Lincoln Speedway – Mother’s Day Special
Sat, May 7 Sycamore Speedway
Fri, May 13 Jacksonville Speedway
Fri, May 20 Lincoln Speedway – All Star Sprints
Mon, May 30 Macon Speedway – Night of NASCAR Stars
Sat, June 4 Sycamore Speedway Sycamore, IL
Wed, June 8 Belle-Clair – Illinois SPEED Week
Thu, June 9 Quincy Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week
Fri, June 10 Jacksonville Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week
Sat, June 11 Macon Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week
Sun, June 12 Lincoln Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week
Fri, June 24 Lincoln Speedway – Fallen Heroes Night
Sat, July 9 Sycamore Speedway Sycamore, IL
Fri, July 15 Lincoln Speedway – MOWA Sprints
Fri, July 22 Champaign County Fairgrounds
Fri, July 29 Lincoln Speedway – Raminator Monster Truck Night
Sat, July 30 Macon Speedway – Taylorville Night
Sat, Aug 6 Sycamore Speedway
Fri, Aug 12 Lincoln Speedway
Fri, Aug 26 Jacksonville Speedway
Sat, Aug 27 Macon Speedway
Fri, Sept 2 Lincoln Speedway
Sat, Sept 24 Macon Speedway
Fri, Oct 14 Jacksonville Speedway
Sat, Oct 15 Jacksonville Speedway

For more information, visit