Rico Abreu Wins Nor-Cal Posse Finale at Placerville

Rico Abreu. (T.J. Buffenbarger photo)

By Gary Thomas
Placerville, CA – September 21, 2019…Rutherford, California’s Rico Abreu came out on a top of a thrilling main event to take home the $7,000 top prize last night at the third annual Nor-Cal Posse Shootout.

The two-time Chili Bowl champion was part of a torrid battle for the lead with Fremont’s Shane Golobic and Paradise racer Kyle Hirst over much of the contest. Abreu and Golobic battled side-by-side for several laps as the race wound down, before the driver of the Abreu Vineyards No. 24 was able to put some distance between the pair.

Abreu ran the high-side of the speedway to perfection and crossed under the Ron Stahl checkered flag to pick up his third career Placerville Speedway. Golobic’s valiant run ended with him finishing in the runner up spot aboard the Elk Grove Ford No. 17W machine. Golobic also set fast time to begin the evening for the second straight night and went home with $500 courtesy of High Sierra Industries, along with a five-ounce silver bullion courtesy of ARP Ent.
Hirst made several nice passes early in the going and rounded out the podium at the helm of the Canales Racing No. 5C Sprinter. It was great to have the current Sprint Car Challenge Tour point leader on hand each night.

Auburn’s Andy Forsberg also had a fine run in the feature to earn the $200 Hard Charger Award courtesy of Starr Property Management. The seven-time track champ carved his way from 13th to fourth in the 40-lapper. Rounding out the top-five was Roseville’s Colby Copeland who ran towards the front all race long.

Completing the top-10 in the Nor-Cal Posse Shootout finale were Clarksburg’s Justyn Cox, Hanford’s Michael Faccinto, Foresthill’s Ryan Robinson, Roseville’s Willie Croft and Lincoln’s Tanner Carrick.

The BCRA Midget Lites held their annual Tracy Taylor Memorial last night and in the end it was Jacob Williams who came out on top. Dakota Albright led through the early stages before Williams was able to make the pass for top-spot heading down the back stretch. Albright finished in second followed by Alex Lewis, Steve Hendricksen and Bryce Bogardus in the top-five. Filling out the top-10 in the feature were Scott Kinney, Brandon Leedy, Danika’jo Parker, Craig Holsted and Terry Bergstrom.

Full results from the final night of the Nor-Cal Posse Shootout can be seen at https://speedhive.mylaps.com/Events/1730453?fbclid=IwAR0h1luLOdsZUAz7M2-1IwAsiSi3e9q6a2hE-Seei75Y6Y_iS5u3SycAl0Y

The Placerville Speedway and Russell Motorsports Inc. would like to thank everyone for their support this weekend. Next up will be the MLM Motorsports Tractor-Truck Pulls this coming Saturday September 28th.

Nor-Cal Posse Shootout
Placerville Speedway
Placerville, CA
Saturday September 21, 2019

1. 24R-Rico Abreu
2. 17W-Shane Golobic
3. 5C-Kyle Hirst
4. X1-Andy Forsberg
5. 5V-Colby Copeland
6. 97-Justyn Cox
7. 5H-Michael Faccinto
8. 14W-Ryan Robinson
9. 29-Willie Croft
10. 83T-Tanner Carrick
11. 25M-Bobby McMahan
12. 9L-Cody Lamar
13. 94-Bubba DeCaires
14. 34-Jodie Robinson
15. 38B-Blake Carrick
16. 93-Stephen Ingraham
17. 77-Mike Benson
18. 42X-Tim Kaeding
19. 12-Jarrett Soares
20. 2-JJ Ringo
21. 5A-Tony Gualda
22. 45-Jake Morgan
23. 56-Cole Macedo
24. 5J-Kalib Henry