Sweet Wins Driver of the Year in the North American 410 Sprint Car Poll

Brad Sweet. (T.J. Buffenbarger photo)

From Bill Wright

KNOXVILLE, Iowa (January 14, 2022) — For the second time in three seasons, Brad Sweet of Grass Valley, California was voted “Driver of the Year” by the North American 410 Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers. Sweet was the World of Outlaws champion for the third year in a row, and racked up sixteen of his seventeen wins with the series. Included amongst his wins was the $25,000 Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup at Lernerville. Brad received ten of twenty first place ballots cast. 2020 “Driver of the Year,” Kyle Larson, received seven first place votes, and David Gravel, Donny Schatz and Brent Marks also received ballot votes in the top spot.

Those drivers ranked second through fifth, respectively, are 2021 Knoxville Nationals champion, Kyle Larson of Elk Grove, California, Bristol WoO winner David Gravel of Watertown, Connecticut, 11-time “Driver of the Year,” Donny Schatz of Fargo, North Dakota, and Williams Grove National Open winner Carson Macedo of Lemoore, California.

Rounding out the ‘top ten’ for the season, respectively, are All Star champion Tyler Courtney, Jackson Nationals and Chico Gold Cup winner Logan Schuchart, World Finals champion Brent Marks, Ironman 55 titlist Sheldon Haudenschild and eight-time winner Lance Dewease.

For the fourth time in its history, Kasey Kahne Racing will win 410 “Team of the Year” honors after their tremendous season. The win is the second for the #49 team.

Kyle Larson was also voted the “Wild Card Award” Award winner for the ninth time in his career for his exciting ‘410’ sprint car performances in 2021.

Ryan Timms is the “Rookie of the Year” in the 410 class after a successful campaign in sprint cars. The Oklahoma City teen was also “Rookie of the Year” in the 360 class.

Steve O’Neal of Port Royal Speedway earned “Promoter of the Year” honors for the sixth time in a row.

“Builder/Manufacturer of the Year” honors in the ‘410’ poll will go to Dan and Ron Musselman of Maxim Racing, Inc. for the second time (2019).

The “Media Member of the Year” Award goes to Brian Dunlap of DirtVision. It is his second award in the category (2018).

“Thomas J. Schmeh Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Sport”

Two deserving recipients will receive the 2021 “Thomas J. Schmeh Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Sport,” the highest honor in the North American Sprint Car Poll. The first is Tod Quiring. Tod is the owner of both the renovated Jackson Motorplex in Minnesota and the Huset’s Speedway in Brandon, South Dakota. The purchase of Huset’s came after a four-year layoff for the track.

Long-time World of Outlaws Series Director, Carlton Reimers, will also be honored. Reimers started his World of Outlaws tenure under the series founder, Ted Johnson. 2021 marked Carlton’s 30th year with “The Greatest Show on Dirt!”

Past recipients of the North American Sprint Car Poll’s “Outstanding Contribution to the Sport Award” are as follows: Kyle Larson, the late Bill Simpson, the late Greg Hodnett, Dave Pusateri, the late Bryan Clauson, Dave Darland, Sammy Swindell, Fred Rahmer, Johnny Gibson, the late Jerry Reigle, Steve Sinclair, Kasey Kahne, Tom Schmeh, the late Dick Jordan, the late Fred Brownfield, Doug Auld, the late Hank Gentzler, Tony Stewart, Emmett Hahn, Allan Holland, Dave Argabright, Ron Shuman, the late Kevin Gobrecht, Jack Hewitt, the late Jack Miller, Brad Doty, Art & Carol Malies, Dave Bowman, the late Ralph Capitani, the late Ted Johnson, Mark Kuchan, Steve Kinser, the late Don Martin, Steve Beitler, Lee Brewer, Jr., Mark Kinser, Frank Lewis, the late Earl Baltes, Casey & Beverly Luna, Elayne Hoff, Jean Lynch, the late J.W. Hunt, and Bert Emick.

The North American 410 Sprint Car Poll is an annual awards program of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum. All awards will be distributed in 2021 at tracks throughout North America. The awards are annually announced at the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

2021 North American 410 Sprint Car Poll Top 20

Position. Name, Hometown, Points (First Place Votes)

Brad Sweet, Grass Valley, CA, 1520 (10)
Kyle Larson, Elk Grove, CA, 1114 (7)
David Gravel, Watertown, CT, 723 (1)
Donny Schatz, Fargo, ND, 518 (1)
Carson Macedo, Lemoore, CA, 478
Tyler Courtney, Indianapolis, IN, 453
Logan Schuchart, Hanover, PA, 354
Brent Marks, Myerstown, PA, 298 (1)
Sheldon Haudenschild, Wooster, OH, 291
Lance Dewease, Fayetteville, PA, 148
Dominic Scelzi, Fresno, CA, 145
Anthony Macri, Dillsburg, PA, 139
Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO, 94

(tie) Danny Dietrich, Gettysburg, PA, 94
James McFadden, Alice Springs, NT, Aust., 89
Cory Eliason, Visalia, CA, 68
Justin Peck, Monrovia, IN, 64
Gio Scelzi, Fresno, CA, 45
Kerry Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust., 42
Logan Wagner, Harrisonville, PA, 41
Bill Balog, Hartland, WI, 35

For more information on the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum and the special events happening here, visit www.SprintCarHoF.com and follow us on Facebook and Twitter!