A Look Ahead to the 2010 Gold Rush Tour for the World of Outlaws

By Tony Veneziano

Concord, NC-August 11, 2010- With another of the closest point races in World of Outlaws history taking shape, the upcoming Gold Rush Tour will play a pivotal role in helping determine the 2010 champion, as 21 A-Feature events remain on the season, with 11 of those taking place during the Gold Rush Tour, which will take the series to six different tracks in four states and one Canadian Province. Nearly $150,000 will be on the line to win those events from a total purse of well over a half-a-million dollars for the 11 races, with the highlights being the $50,000 to-win Gold Cup Raceway of Champions at Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, California and the $20,000 to-win the finale at Skagit Speedway in Washington.

The 2010 Gold Rush Tour kicks off on Friday, August 20 and Saturday, August 21 at Nodak Speedway in Minot, North Dakota with the Gerdau Ameristeel Magic City Showdown Presented by Sleep Inn & Suites, which will mark the World of Outlaws first-ever two-day event at the recently reconfigured 3/8-mile, with its brand new state-of-the-art grandstand, which is closer to the racing surface to provide enhanced viewing. Danny Lasoski was victorious at Nodak Speedway last season and there has been a different winner in each of the World of Outlaws four races at the track dating back to 2006.

The series then heads north of the border for the final time this season for the Fourth Annual Oil City Cup at Castrol Raceway in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada on Friday, August 27 and Saturday, August 28. Joey Saldana, the current World of Outlaws point leader, won both nights of the Oil City Cup last season, while Steve Kinser, Jason Meyers, Donny Schatz and Jac Haudenschild are all former winners at the always racy 3/8-mile in Western Canada.

Cottage Grove Speedway in Oregon then awaits the best sprint car drivers in the world on Wednesday, September 1 for a full night of racing at the high-banked ¼-mile bullring. Jason Meyers is the defending race winner at the track, while each of the four drivers that are currently at the top of the World of Outlaws standings have won at Cottage Grove Speedway. Steve Kinser and Danny Lasoski are tied for the most wins at the track with the series, with three apiece, while Donny Schatz has two victories at Cottage Grove. Nine different drivers have picked up wins with the series at the track.

Following a travel day, the Gold Rush Tour continues at Skagit Speedway in Washington on Friday, September 3 and Saturday, September 4 for two full nights of racing, with a $20,000 top prize awaiting the winner of the finale. Jason Meyers scored the then-richest win of his career last season at Skagit Speedway, while Joey Saldana was victorious in the opener. A total of nine drivers have won A-Feature events with the series at the high-banked bullring dating back to 1978.

The World of Outlaws will spend Labor Day at Grays Harbor Raceway in Elma, Washington on Monday, September 6. Mother Nature was victorious at the track last season, while Kraig Kinser scored the win in 2008. There has been a different winner in each of the last eight World of Outlaws events at the track dating back to 2000. Steve Kinser is one of just two drivers that have won more than once at the track, with Mark Kinser being the other. Jason Meyers and Donny Schatz have each won once at the track.

The 2010 Gold Rush Tour wraps up with the 57th Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions, September 9-11 at Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, California, with $50,000 again awaiting the winner of the finale. A new format is in place this season, with every single driver competing on all three nights of the storied event. Joey Saldana is the defending Gold Cup Champion, snagging the win from Jason Sides coming off the fourth corner on the very last lap last season. The current World of Outlaws point leader has won the famed event twice in his career. Steve Kinser leads all drivers with a record 12 Gold Cups dating back to 1978. Jac Haudenschild has won the Gold Cup three times, while Donny Schatz and Danny Lasoski have each won it once.

Heading into the 2010 Gold Rush Tour, Joey Saldana holds a slim nine-point leader over 20-time series champion Steve Kinser in the series standings, with Jason Meyers third only 46 markers out of the top spot, with four-time and defending series champion Donny Schatz fourth (-165) and Jason Sides fifth (-218).

For more information on the World of Outlaws including up-to-date standings and a full 2010 schedule, visit: http://www.worldofoutlaws.com/sprint.

The World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: Armor All (Official Car Care Products), Chizmark & Larson Insurance , Goodyear Tires (Official Tire), SuperClean (Official Cleaner-Degreaser), VP Racing (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to contingency sponsors, Jake’s Custom Golf Carts, KSE Race Products, Penske Shocks , R2C Performance, Racing Electronics, S&S Volvo; Engine Builder’s Challenge participants Don Ott Racing Engines, Kistler Engines, Shaver Specialties and Speedway Engines; and Chassis Builder’s Challenge participants J&J Auto Racing, Maxim Racing and XXX Race Company.