Attica wraps up 2010 season with All Stars

2010 arp attica raceway Park
2010 arp attica raceway Park

By Brian Liskai

ATTICA, Ohio – Attica Raceway Park will close out the 2010 season in a big way Saturday, Sept. 4 with the traditional Attica Ambush featuring the O’Reilly Auto Parts All Star Circuit of Champion Sprint Cars on the Baumann Auto Group/WNWO NBC Channel 24 Night.

Knoxville Nationals champion and defending All Star champion and current point leader Tim Shaffer, two-time All Star champion Greg Wilson, Knoxville Nationals Rookie of the Year and Ohio Speedweek champion David Gravel, All Star rookies Cap Henry and Jared Ridge and veteran Bill Rose and more will take on Attica’s tough weekly competitors.

The last time the All Stars visited Attica Raceway Park was to open the Ohio Sprint Speedweek at the end of June. Byron Reed, who recently picked up his sixth Attica track title, scored the victory over 12-time Attica champion Mark Keegan and Dean Jacobs who also recorded a win at “Ohio’s Finest” speedplant in 2010.

Reed also defeated the All Stars at Attica earlier in the year at the traditional Spring Nationals.

Stevie Smith took the Attica Ambush win in 2009 while Dale Blaney picked up the victory in 2008.

The All Star drivers will also have their hands full with 2009 Fremont Attica Sprint Title champion Craig Mintz, Bryan Sebetto, and Rob Chaney and Lee Jacobs who have recorded Attica wins in 2010.

Shaffer will also be available to sign autographs for fans from 4-5 p.m. behind the grandstands.

Also, Dwight Allen’s Racing World will be having a tailgate party from 4-5 p.m. and encourages fans to stop by and do some “bench racing.”

Besides the All Star sprints, the UMP late models and Computer Man Dirt Trucks will be in action.

Tickets are $22 for adults; $20 for senior citizens; $10 for teens ages 11-15 and kids 10 and under are free. Gates will open at 4 p.m. with racing underway at 7 p.m.

For more information go to