By Dick Jordan

Bobby East is the winningest USAC driver in Anderson (Ind.) Speedway history and Sunday he will seek a ninth USAC victory at the quarter-mile paved oval in the debut of USAC’s brand-new Pavement Sprint Car Series.

East was the first driver to enter the “Glen Niebel Classic,” a race he won in 2009, the last time it was held. Last year, he also won a 100-lap USAC National Midget race at the track.

Tracy Hines, who finished second to East in the 2009 classic, is also expected to be among Sunday’s competitors, as are the Swanson brothers, Kody and Tanner, who shared last year’s USAC “Most Improved Driver” honors. Tanner won the 2008 “Glen Niebel Classic” in his first-ever USAC National Sprint race appearance!

Chris Windom, a two-time Anderson USAC victor, is also among expected drivers Sunday. He won a Kenyon Midget feature there in 2006 and a Regional Midget race there in 2008.

Throw in drivers like A.J. Fike, Russ Gamester and Casey Riggs and you have a formidable field of drivers to challenge for the win Sunday. Fike earned his initial USAC Silver Crown victory last year at Iowa Speedway.

A 50-lap feature is on tap Sunday following qualifications and preliminary races.