The 29th Season for the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints Starts this Saturday at Can-Am

Empire Super Sprints ESS Logo

By Dean Reynolds

SYRACUSE, NY – Even though it’s the earliest opener in three years for the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (ESS), it’s long awaited and highly anticipated. The stars and cars will be out in force at Can-Am Motorsports Park this Saturday to kick off the 28th Anniversary Tour.

The $2,000 Riverside Bar and Grill A-Main is a very important stop on the 29 race tour as it will pay points for the overall Lucas Oil title, the Northwood 2 Construction/LaSalle Motorsports Canadian Sprint Series and the SUNY Canton Series. A field of over 30 ESS sprinters are expected to fill the pit area at the Tiger Chapman owned track.

Leading in the invasion to LaFargeville, NY is defending and three-time ESS champion Steve Poirier with his familiar #28FM. His challengers will be strong in the likes of 2009 champ Justin Barger, two-time champ Lance Yonge, Chuck Hebing, Jeff Cook, 2010 Lane’s Yamaha Rookie of the Year Kevin Ward Jr., 2006 champ Alain Bergeron, Michael Parent and Tommy Wickham.

But, the list doesn’t stop there with top stars also expected such as Mike Stelter, Shawn Donath, Jason Barney, Brian McDonald, Lee Ladouceur, Chris Jones, Cory Sparks, Devin Caron, Tyler Rand, Jami Russell, Dylan Swiernik, Tim Kelly, Rick and April Wilson, Paul Pekkonen and Dave Dykstra. Then add in the likes of young stars Matt Tanner, Tyler Rice, Kyle Fraser, Dale Gosselin, Steve Collins along with other surprises it will be a who’s, who in the field.

Mother Nature has won the first two planned events at the “Nasty track of the North” setting up for a big opening day extravaganza. Car Mate Custom Built Trailers will kick off the night with the heat events followed by the Rt. 37 Building Supply/Cobra Coaches Dash Series event with the B-Main immediately following. The 25 lap A-Main will pay a cool two grand to win thanks to the Wilson family and Riverside Bar and Grill.

Can-Am, the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints and the opening of the 29th racing season for some of the best sprint cars drivers of two nations…It will be excitement guaranteed!!

For more information:

Past Empire Super Sprint Winners at Can-Am Motorsports Park.

July 30, 1987

John Brutcher

July 28, 1988

John Birosh

July 27, 1989

John Birosh

Aug. 2, 1990

Mal Lane

Aug. 1, 1991

Jeff Thomas

July 30, 1992

Tim Kelly

July 28, 1994

Mike Woodring

June 22, 1995

Craig Lane

June 19, 1996

Mike Woodring

June 19, 1997

George Suprick

June 18, 1998

Mike Woodring

June 24, 1999

Dan Kaszubinski

June 22, 2000

Dan Kaszubinski

June 21, 2001

Dan Kaszubinski

Aug. 25, 2001

Alain Bergeron

June 20, 2002

Ryan Coniam

Aug. 17, 2002

Dan Kaszubinski

May 29,2004

Rick Wilson

July 3, 2004

May 28,2005

Rick Wilson

Lance Yonge

July 2, 2005

Dan Kaszubinski

May 27, 2006

Jessica Zemken

July 1, 2006

Justin Barger

July 27, 2006

Jeff VanDusen

July 5, 2008

Justin Barger

July 4, 2009

Justin Barger

July 2, 2010

Justin Barger

July 3, 2010

Jessica Zemken

Sept. 3, 2010

Steve Poirier

The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints are brought to you by: Lucas Oil, Northwood 2 Construction/LaSalle Motorsports, SUNY Canton, 730 Truck Stop, Hoosier Racing Tires, Les Constructions Ultra, Cooks Contracting Services, Fondations 4 Saisons, Car Mate Trailers, The National Parts Peddler Newspaper, WestFront Construction, Cobra Coaches, The Ohsweken Speedway, Mohawk Racing Parts, Engine Research, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Total Race Supply, Riverside Bar and Grill, Coffrage Daniel Lampron, Jasmin Peloquin Sport, FX Chevy and many, many associate sponsors.