World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series at a Glance: Sage Fruit Showdown at Talladega Short Track

By Kyle Luetters

CONCORD, N.C. — October 17, 2011 — Jason Meyers continued his winning ways into Fremont (Ohio) Speedway to make it five victories in a row. The #14 DDNi/Media-Tile/GLR Investments/ All-Star Performance team hasn’t finished lower than third in the past seven races as they continue their march towards a second consecutive series title.

The end of the season is rapidly approaching as the Outlaws invade Talladega Short Track for the Sage Fruit Showdown. It marks the first time since 2004 that the series his visited the one-third mile oval.


Saturday, October 22 at Talladega Short Track in Eastaboga, Ala. Hot laps at 6:00 p.m. and racing kicks off at 7:00 p.m.


Talladega Short Track is located at 4343 Speedway Boulevard, Eastaboga, Ala. 36260. Click here for directions.


Ticket information for the racing at Talladega Short Track can be found at or by calling 256-831-1413.


World of Outlaws —

Talladega Short Track –

Dirt Radio Network —


Fremont Speedway is a high-banked, 1/3rd mile oval. The track record of 10.988 seconds, established by Randy Hannigan on April 20, 2001


World of Outlaws A-Feature winners at Talladega Short Track

2004- Jason Meyers on April 24

2003- Danny Lasoski on April 3, Steve Kinser on September 27

2002- Danny Lasoski on April 20, Steve Kinser on October 5

2001 – Mark Kinser on April 21, Andy Hillenburg on October 20


Talladega Short Track is a 1/3rd mile oval. So far in 2011, there have been seven races on a track that size. The winners include:Joey Saldana – 2 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 19, Beaver Dam Raceway on July 9) Craig Dollansky – 1 (I-55 Raceway on August 6);Paul McMahan – 1 (Brockville-Ontario Speedway on July 29); Jason Meyers – 1 (Fremont Speedway on October 15) Donny Schatz – 1 (Attica Raceway Park on May 20)


The following World of Outlaws drivers maintain Web sites:

Cody Darrah-

Craig Dollansky-

Ben Gregg-

Chad Kemenah-

Kraig Kinser-

Steve Kinser-

Paul McMahan-

Jason Meyers-

Bill Rose –

Joey Saldana-

Donny Schatz-

Jason Sides-

Lucas Wolfe-

For more driver information visit:


WINNERS – There have been 62 World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series A-Feature events in 2011. The winners include: Craig Dollansky – 9 (Silver Dollar Speedway on March 12, Salina Highbanks Speedway on May 3, River Cities Speedway on June 17 and 18, Dodge City Raceway Park on July 1, Lebanon Valley Speedway on July 24, I-55 Raceway on August 6, Skagit Speedway on September 2, Clay County Fair Speedway on September 16); Steve Kinser – 9 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 11 and 12, Pike County Raceway on Feb. 25, the Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 4, Lakeside Speedway on June 4, River Cities Speedway on August 19, Huset’s Speedway on August 20, Antioch Speedway on September 12, Deer Creek Speedway on September 17); Jason Meyers – 9 (Cedar Lake Speedway on July 8, Williams Grove Speedway on July 23, Autodrome Drummond on July 30, Castrol Raceway on August 26, Lernerville Speedway on September 24, Williams Grove Speedway on September 30, Williams Grove Speedway on October 7, Rolling Wheels Raceway Park on October 8, Fremont Speedway on October 15); Joey Saldana – 6 (Las Vegas Motor Speedway on March 3, Thunderbowl Raceway on March 19, Eldora Speedway on May 6, Beaver Dam Raceway on July 9, Hartford Motor Speedway on September 21, Eldora Speedway on September 23); Donny Schatz – 6 (Attica Raceway Park on May 20, Princeton Speedway on June 25, Limaland Motorsports Park on July 13, Bloomington Speedway on August 5, Knoxville Raceway on August 13, Black Hills Speedway on August 23); Paul McMahan – 4 (the Dirt Track at Charlotte on May 28, Belleville Highbanks on June 3, Brockville-Ontario Speedway on July 29, Silver Dollar Speedway on September 9); Sammy Swindell – 4 (Royal Purple Raceway on Feb. 26, Merced Speedway on April 1, Tri-State Speedway on April 30, Knoxville Raceway on June 11); Jason Sides – 4 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 13, Calistoga Speedway on April 2, I-96 Speedway on May 30, Dodge City Raceway Park on July 2); Tim Shaffer – 2 (Eldora Speedway on July 15, Lernerville Speedway on July 19);Dale Blaney – 1 (Lernerville Speedway on July 19); Cody Darrah – 1 (Castrol Raceway on august 27);Sam Hafertepe Jr. – 1 (Skagit Speedway on September 3); Greg Hodnett – 1 (Williams Grove Speedway on July 22);Kraig Kinser – 1 (Cottage Grove Speedway on September 5); Kyle Larson – 1 (Silver Dollar Speedway on September 10);Daryn Pittman – 1 (Williams Grove Speedway on May 13); Tony Stewart – 1 (Oshweken Speedway on July 27); Tyler Walker – 1 (Eldora Speedway on July 16.)

Tune in: Listen live as the Voice of the Outlaws, Johnny Gibson, calls the action at all World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series events on the DIRT Radio Network, with a number of events throughout the season being featured on the DIRTVision Cybercast. Visit for more information on all the features, including updated results from each night of racing as well as a chat room to interact with other fans listening to the racing action. Also, be sure to check out the all new official Podcast of the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series, Outlaws Unleashed, in the iTunes store or at

On the Web: The all new Official World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series Web site is at and includes driver biographies with statistics and pictures, race-by-race stats, detailed track information and race coverage, series news and team press releases.

Up next: After the Sage Fruit Showdown, the Outlaws head for the Dirt Track at Charlotte and the annual World Finals on November 3 – 5.