Chili Bowl Ready!

2010 Chili Bowl

From Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (January 8, 2012) – After a full day of parking over 260 teams from throughout the nation and beyond, the QuikTrip Center is Chili Bowl ready. And, all appearances are that the City of Tulsa is Chili Bowl ready as well.

With all the teams in place inside the QuikTrip Center, all that remains between Tuesday’s kickoff of the 26th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals is Monday’s practice session atop the ¼-mile Tulsa Expo Raceway clay oval from 9:00 a.m. until approximately 6:00 p.m.

With another couple of entries filed on Sunday, the current count for the prestigious event is at 264 from 32 different states as well as Australia, Canada, Finland and New Zealand.

Among the additions to the entry list on Sunday is past New Zealand Midget champion Shaun Insley, who takes the seat of the second Andy Bondio entry and teams with fellow Kiwi Brad Mosen.

Monday’s practice session will be followed by four full nights of qualifying action on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, which will set the stage for Saturday’s slate of championship feature events.

Tuesday’s Warren CAT Qualifier will also include the Fourth Annual Vacuworx International Race of Champions (VIROC IV), which will include NASCAR champions Tony Stewart and Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., along with a host of other Chili Bowl stars.

Tickets remain for Tuesday’s card of events for just $43 and may be obtained by calling 918-838-3777 or at the gate.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals Quick Facts:

What: 26th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals

Where: Tulsa Expo Raceway – ¼-mile clay oval inside the QuikTrip Center at the Tulsa State Fairgrounds

January 10-14, 2011
Tuesday – Warren CAT Qualifying Night plus Vacuworx Chili Bowl Race of Champions
Wednesday – River Spirit Casino Qualifying Night
Thursday – Suburban Chevrolet Qualifying Night
Friday – Vacuworx International Qualifying Night
Saturday – Lucas Oil Championship Feature Events

The five nights of racing action will be preceded by a practice session on Monday, January 9.

Past Winners: Kevin Swindell (2010 and 2011), Sammy Swindell (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989), Damion Gardner (2008), Tony Stewart (2007 and 2002), Tim McCreadie (2006), Tracy Hines (2005), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Dan Boorse (2003 and 1999), Jay Drake (2001), Billy Boat (1997), Donnie Beechler (1995), Andy Hillenburg (1994), Dave Blaney (1993), Lealand McSpadden (1991), Jon Heydenreich (1990), Scott Hatton (1988), Rich Vogler (1987).

Trade Show: Always a popular attraction at the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is the Trade Show, which is open to the public each day (Tuesday through Saturday) free of charge. All variety of racing products, apparel and more is available with well over 100 different vendors. The Trade Show covers approximately 20,000 square feet.

Tickets: A limited number of reserved seats for Tuesday night’s Warren CAT Qualifying Event and the Fourth Annual Vacuworx International Chili Bowl Race of Champions are available for $43 per person and may be obtained by calling 918-838-3777 or at the gate if still available. Pit passes for all five nights are available at the gate as well.

Chili Bowl on the Net: All official news pertaining to the 26th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals, including official entry lists, race results and recaps, is available first at Also, all five nights of the Chili Bowl Nationals will be broadcast live (audio) on

Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is available at or by calling 918-838-3777.