Sides scores win in the USCS presented by Goodyear season opener at Magnolia

By Pete Walton

Columbus, MS – March 3, 2012 – Jason Sides from Bartlett, Tennessee inherited the lead from Benton, Arkansas’ Tim Crawley on lap 20 of the 25-lap United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear main event on Saturday night to reach the USCS victory lane in the sprint car portion of the “Frostbuster 250” at Magnolia Motor Speedway. 10-time USCS National sprint car Champion, Terry Gray also from Bartlett, Tennessee chased Sides to the finish line in the runner-up spot. Another Bartlett, Tennessee driver, 2008 USCS Rookie of the Year, Anthony Nicholson finished in third place followed by Gary Taylor from Snohomish, Washington finished in fourth place and Brian Bell from Cordova, Tennessee rounded out the top five drivers.

2006 USCS Rookie of the Year, Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas lead the next group of drivers in sixth place followed by past series Champion, Marshall Skinner from West Memphis, Arkansas in seventh place. Crawley rallied from a rear pack re-start over the last five laps to finish eighth. Another Arkansan and 2011 USCS Rookie of the Year, Jordon Mallett from Greenbrier, Arkansas finished ninth and the only female driver in the field, 2010 USCS Rookie of the Year,Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee rounded out the top ten drivers. Twenty five of the twenty-six entries started the main event.

The USCS presented by Goodyear Outlaw Thunder Tour next event is at Malden Speedway in Malden, Missouri on Saturday, march 17, 2012 during the 6th annual Bootheel 200. For more info please visit or

United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear
Magnolia Motor Speedway – March 3, 2012

Pos. Car# Driver
1. 7s Jason Sides, Bartlett, TN – JE Pistons Top Guns Award
2. 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
3. 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN – K&N Filters Podium Award
4. 1x Gary Taylor, Snohomish, WA – Butlerbuilt 4th place Award
5. 23 Brian Bell, Cordova, TN – Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award
6. 9Jr. Derek Hagar, Marion, AR
7. 26 Marshall Skinner, W. Memphis, AR
8. 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR
9. 14 Jordon Mallett, Greenbrier, AR
10. 80 Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN – DMI Bulldog top Ten Award
11. 47 Eric Riggins, Charlotte, NC
12. 13 Todd Fayard, Saucier, MS
13. 09 Timmy Thrash, Biloxi, MS – Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award
14. 31 Justin Webb, Drummonds, TN
15. 12 Dalton Davis, Millington, TN
16. 22 Kevin Kilpatrick, Walls, MS
17. 07 Johnny Bridges, Cherryville, NC
18. 1a Lee Moore, Tuscaloosa, AL
19. 10p Jim Perricone, San Antonio, TX
20. 87 Justin Carver, Drummonds, TN – K&N Filters Pole Award
21. 58 Wade Oliver, Southaven, MS
22. 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
23. 4 Nathan Cook, Oakland, TN
24. 40 Ernie Ainsworth, Bartlett, TN
25. 5 Jerod Roller, Hernando, MS
DNS – 13 Tristan Tidmore, Hernado, MS

Heat Race Winners:
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Tim Crawley
Butlerbuilt Second Heat: Jason Sides
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Third Heat: Justin Carver