It’s Bacon in Lucas Oil ASCS Eagle Nationals Prelim

By Bryan Hulbert,Tim Aylwin photo

Eagle, Nebraska (June 8, 2012) It seems that Brady Bacon’s season has
turned a corner as the Broken Arrow native captured his second Lucas
Oil American Sprint Car Series National Tour victory in a row.

Receiving a well-deserved Champagne shower from second finishing Brad
Loyet, the driver of the Fatheadz Eyewear 99, who started ninth,
utilized the inside groove for the first third of the nights feature
before bolting to the high line of Eagle Raceway to capture the lead
on the twelfth circuit.

“We were a little tight in turn one but were super good on the bottom
of three and four” commented Brady. “We turned things around at
Jetmore and hopefully we can keep the hot streak alive.”

Holding a straight-a-way advantage in the middle portion of the
night’s 30 lap feature event, Bacon sat well ahead of the battles from
second through sixth with second finishing Loyet holding off several
charges from Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region regular Trevor

“I just over thought it; I should have just stuck to the top. The lap
I went to the bottom he got around me” relayed Loyet during his
post-race interview. “We’re knocking on the door for that first win.
I’ve had great cars and good finishes but I like winning and I want it
bad; I want it real bad.”

Making his second Lucas Oil ASCS feature appearance, Trevor
Grossenbacher held onto the show position after nearly losing the spot
to Wayne Johnson in the later portion of the nights feature event.
Johnson would hold onto fourth at the checkered flag; just one spot
ahead of series rival Jason Johnson who picked up the
Hard Charger of the Night after a crash in his heat relegated the MVT
41 into the B-Feature which put Johnson starting nineteenth in the
night’s feature event.

Seth Bergman came from eleventh to finish sixth with Danny Wood
holding onto seventh. Spending the first few laps’ battling for the
runner up spot before tagging the wall, the 45x of Johnny Herrera
charged from twentieth to finish eighth, getting around the hard
charging 53 of Jack Dover who finish ninth. Logan Forler, who also
raced into the feature via the B-Main, was able to race from
seventeenth to round out the top ten.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

Eagle Raceway – Eagle, Nebraska

Eagle Nationals Night #1

June 8, 2012

Car Count: 33

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 51-Mike Boston[1]; 2. 2x-Don Droud Jr[2]; 3.
13v-Seth Brahmer[4]; 4. 77-John Klabunde[5]; 5. 14G-Gene Ackland[3];
6. 24bh-Eric Lutz[7]; 7. 6g-Bryan Gossel[9]; 8. 18r-Ryan Roberts[8];
DNF 21v-Taylor Velasquez[6]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 05-Brad Loyet[1]; 2. 77x-Wayne Johnson[3]; 3.
23-Seth Bergman[2]; 4. 53-Jack Dover[5]; 5. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[4]; DNF
71-Tige Jensen[6]; DNF 2-Dustin Morgan[7]; DNF 41-Jason Johnson[8]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 81-Danny Wood[4]; 2. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher[1];
3. 4-Jordan Boston[2]; 4. 48-Jake Martens[3]; 5. 5h-Logan Forler[5];
6. 12-Tyler Drueke[8]; 7. 31-Mark Pace[7]; DNF 32-Adam Gullion[6]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 99-Brady Bacon[1]; 2. 45x-Johnny Herrera[4]; 3.
23s-Stu Snyder[2]; 4. 6-Ricky Stenhouse Jr[6]; 5. 2A-Randy Hibbs[3];
6. 44-Doug Lovegrove[5]; 7. 17-Gage Dorr[7]; 8. 27-Mark Finnell[8]

B Feature (15 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[3]; 2. 5h-Logan Forler[2]; 3.
12-Tyler Drueke[1]; 4. 41-Jason Johnson[14]; 5. 31-Mark Pace[11]; 6.
14G-Gene Ackland[5]; 7. 18r-Ryan Roberts[13]; 8. 6g-Bryan Gossel[7];
9. 24bh-Eric Lutz[4]; 10. 44-Doug Lovegrove[9]; 11. 32-Adam
Gullion[16]; 12. 21v-Taylor Velasquez[17]; 13. 27-Mark Finnell[15];
DNF 17-Gage Dorr[12]; DNF 2A-Randy Hibbs[6]; DNF 71-Tige Jensen[8];
DNS 2-Dustin Morgan

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 99-Brady Bacon[7]; 2. 05-Brad Loyet[1]; 3.
35-Trevor Grossenbacher[2]; 4. 77x-Wayne Johnson[6]; 5. 41-Jason
Johnson[19]; 6. 23-Seth Bergman[11]; 7. 81-Danny Wood[5]; 8.
45x-Johnny Herrera[3]; 9. 53-Jack Dover[15]; 10. 5h-Logan Forler[17];
11. 6-Ricky Stenhouse Jr[8]; 12. 31-Mark Pace[20]; 13. 18r-Ryan
Roberts[22]; 14. 23s-Stu Snyder[13]; 15. 77-John Klabunde[12]; 16.
12-Tyler Drueke[18]; DNF 18-Tony Bruce Jr[16]; DNF 2x-Don Droud Jr[4];
DNF 48-Jake Martens[14]; DNF 14G-Gene Ackland[21]; DNF 4-Jordan
Boston[10]; DNF 13v-Seth Brahmer[9]

Lap Leaders: Brad Loyet (1-11), Brady Bacon (12-30) Hard Charger: Jason Johnson +14

FSR Radiator High Point Driver of the night: Danny Wood

Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-3, Brady Bacon-2, Tony Bruce
Jr.-2, Wayne Johnson-2, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason
Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Wayne Johnson
1,822; 2. Jason Johnson 1,821; 3. Brady Bacon 1,801; 4. Johnny Herrera
1,668; 5. Brad Loyet 1,658; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 1,584; 7. Danny Wood
1,527; 8. Seth Bergman 1,464; 9. Gary Wright 1,410; 10. Dustin Morgan

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is
scheduled to compete 68 times in 15 states throughout the United
States with divers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing
for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint
Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and
into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also
consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car
Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American
Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings
in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series
presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3
Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator
and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld
Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing
Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is
available at