Forsberg Wins at Chico

silver dollar Speedway chico

silver dollar Speedway chicoChico, CA — (August 23, 2013) —   Andy Forsberg started outside row two and fought his way to a well earned victory to claim the Tyler Wolf Memorial Trophy. “I’m not gonna say Tyler and I were best friends, but when we come through that pit gate we are all friends. Tyler did it right, he worked his way up from the bottom. We all miss him a lot and I’m glad I get to take home this awesome trophy for the year.” said an emotional and excited Andy Forsberg in Victory Lane. Other Winners during Wells Fargo Points Race #17 include Rowdy McClenon in the Perma-Zyme Wingless Sprint Cars, Misty Castleberry in the Mini Stocks, Randy McDaniel in the Dirt Modifieds, and Mitch Machado in the Street Stocks.

Five Champions were also Crowned tonight. Sean Becker clinched his 2nd straight Track Championship in the 410 Sprint Cars. The win marks his third track title at Silver Dollar Speedway. Rowdy McClenon also won his 2nd straight title at Silver Dollar in the Wingless Sprint Cars, as did Misty Castleberry in the Mini Stocks, and Jake Vantol in the Street Stocks. Duane Cleveland picked up his 2nd Championship in the Dirt Modified division and first since 2005. Michael Tarter claimed the David Tarter Rookie of The Year Award named after his late brother.

The 410 Sprint Car Main got off to a rough and tumble start as it saw Bud Walberg tip on his side before getting a lap in. Than on the next attempt Clint Wilson got upside down in nearly the same spot. Once the race got underway though, Kenny Allen would jump out to lead the first lap. On lap two Sean Becker was able to make the move by Allen. Becker would lead until lap eight when Forsberg would make a nice move in turns one and two to take the lead from Becker. Shane Golobic would move into second on lap 14 and was tracking down Forsberg when the slower car of Michael Ing, trying to exit the racetrack, made contact with Golobic. The contact caused significant damage to Golobic who had to exit the racetrack. In the end though it was Andy Forsberg who would go on to win. Followed across the line by Rico Abreu in second, Andy Gregg in third, Sean Becker in fourth, and Keith Bloom with and impressive run from thirteenth to fifth. Rico Abreu was the fastest driver in Qualifying with a time of 12.112. Heat Race action saw a scary wreck in Heat Race One which caused about a twenty minute delay in the action. Brandon McMillen made contact with another car on the back straight causing McMillen’s car to flip wildly off of turn number three. Brandon was transported to a local hospital where he was diagnosed with a Major Concussion but is expected to be ok. Heat Race Wins were taken by Bud Walberg and Andy Gregg.

In honor of Tyler Wolf there were many donations made to add to the purse in tonight’s race. The Adams Family donated $100 dollars to the driver who led lap 19 in the main event, that driver was Andy Forsberg. Janna Spear added a $100 dollar bonus to the Fast Time Award claimed by Rico Abreu. The Hard Charger award of $500 dollars donated by the Swope and Thomas Families went to Keith Bloom Jr. driving the Chuck Wolf owned #19. The Hard Luck Award of $250 donated by Dave Ing went to Brandon McMillen after his rough ride in Heat Race action. ART Speed Equipment donated $150 to each Heat Race winner those drivers being Bud Walberg and Andy Gregg. Calvert Farms donated four tickets to this Sunday’s San Francisco 49er’s game to the fourth place finisher in the Main Event, that award went to Sean Becker. There was also an anonymous donation of $200 to be split up amongst the drivers finishing 6th or worse in heat race action. Thank you all for your donations in memory of Tyler Wolf.

Randy McDaniel walked away with the Dirt Modified Main Event tonight. McDaniel also won the Dash 4 Cash for the Dirt Modifieds. Randy was dominant as he led every lap of the main event. Randy was followed across the line by son Ryan McDaniel in second, Richard Papenhausen in third,  Duane Cleveland was able to clinch the Championship by finishing fourth, and Willie McMillen would round out the top five. Heat Race Wins were claimed by Jeff Olschowka and Randy McDaniel.

Rowdy McClenon claimed his second straight Wingless Sprint Car Title at Silver Dollar Speedway and won the race to boot. The race was red flagged on lap 4 when Dustin Thompson lost an engine in a huge way as his car went up in flames. He was able to climb out and the fire crew put the fire out without further incident. It was no walk in the park though for McClenon, as he had to hold off hard charging Terry Shank Jr. and Angelique Bell who finished second and third respectably. Ron Laplant and Taylor Nelson would round out the top five. The lone wingless Heat Race was claimed by Terry Shank Jr.

Mitch Machado started outside row three and it only took him four laps to get to the lead, making a daring pass on the high side in turn one. Machado would never look back and would go on to win his third race of the year at Silver Dollar Speedway. Newly Crowned Champion Jake Vantol had a rough night suffering from mechanical difficulties all night. Following Machado across the stripe was Phil Marino in second. It was good to see Phil back in the street stock division as he missed most of the season this year. Third went to Chico Volkswagen driver Kevin Lesch, Jerry Bartlett made his season debut in the street stocks and brought home a solid fourth place finish, and Corey Hall would round out the top five. Heat Race wins were taken by Corey Hall and Mitch Machado.

Misty Castleberry stayed perfect in the Mini Stocks this season in Main Event Competition. Claiming her second Track Championship in as many years. Misty’s closest competition all year was Galen Hainlin who once again finished a close second to Castleberry, Kyle Cheney ran a solid third tonight, followed by James Foster and Scott Kames rounding out the top five. Heat Race action saw Galen Hainlin and Kyle Cheney take wins.

The Points Season has come a close at Silver Dollar Speedway. Another great season in the books. Next on tap at the Speedway is the 60th Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions September 4th-7th. Tickets can be purchased online or by calling the track office at (530)-350-7275. Thank you to all the fans and drivers for coming out week after week and supporting local dirt track racing at it’s finest at Silver Dollar Speedway!


Winged 410 Sprint Car Feature:
1. Andy Forsberg
2. Rico Abreu
3. Andy Gregg
4. Sean Becker
5. Keith Bloom
6. Kenny Allen
7. Michael Tarter
8. Bud Walberg
9. Brad Bumgarner
10. Craig Stidham
11. Craig Swim
12. B.J. Martin
13. Clayton Snow
14. Shane Golobic
15. Billy Strange Jr.
16. Michael Ing
17. Christine Zaveson
18. Clint Wilson


Wingless Sprints:
1. Rowdy McClenon
2. Terry Schank, Jr.
3. Angelique Bell
4. Ron Laplant
5. Taylor Nelson
6. Nathan Johnson
7. Sergio Ceja
8. Don Emery
9. Dustin Thompson